No New Arrivals

In last week’s New Arrivals mega-post, I hinted there might no be anything else for a while, and sure enough nothing new has come in. That’s good, because if I manage to read something I will have made a small step on the read-not-buy path, one I’m trying to get on.

The only new stuff here is a bedroom ceiling fan,  florescent light fixtures on the garage ceiling and over the workbench, and the track lighting in the library. In fact, the library has now been declared finished. The clock is in, the lighting, the sound system (too much for the room, really, but better too much than too little), small bits of art on the walls. The French have a saying on the order of “the loaf is fully baked” meaning something is done just right, but I’m darned if I can remember it, but if I could it would be applicable.

Back to books, I do have a couple of things on pre-order, if any of those come in I’ll do a New Arrivals, otherwise, Mondays will be a duller day for all you faithful Bullhorn readers.

About Richard Robinson

Enjoying life in Portland, OR
This entry was posted in At Home in Portland. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to No New Arrivals

  1. Jeff Meyerson says:

    I did get in a few things from the exchange, most inspired by you, Bill and George. They are the previously mentioned THE ROAD TO THE RIM by A. Bertram Chandler (which also contains the short story collection THE HARD WAY UP), and Max Shulman’s RALLY ROUND THE FLAG, BOYS! (which I read many years ago but which Bill’s recent post made me remember).

    The other two paperbacks, also from the Exchange, were Howard Hunt’s early THE BIMINI RUN and James White’s collection (including a couple from the Sector General series) of sf shorts, THE ALIENS AMONG US (which I’m halfway through).

  2. Richard says:

    Sounds good. I read the Shulman when I was in college, I think, never did try any of the Hunt books. I still haven’t finished the 2nd or 3rd White omnibus volumes of Sector General stories. Soon, soon…

  3. Evan Lewis says:

    This is especially sad for those of us who get our book fix vicariously through your purchases.

  4. Jeff Meyerson says:

    I read a couple of Hunts in Florida – the first in his Peter Ward series “as by David St. John” and HOUSE DICK (originally as by “Gordon Davis”) so thought I’d try one of his early books. This one came out in 1949, just before he joined the CIA.

    I’ve read the first five of White’s Sector General books and just discovered this collection of longish stories, so thought I’d pick it up.

  5. Patti Abbott says:

    I got WOLF HALL and A PARIS WIFE in the local Borders sell off. I also downloaded MILDRED PIERCE, which I had never read. It’s a knockout novel. I have never seen the movie because I detest Joan Crawford, but I picture her anyway.

  6. Richard says:

    Excellent, Patti! I don’t care for Crawford either. In that role I’d picture Mary Astor or Barbara Stanwick.

  7. Jeff Meyerson says:

    Haven’t read it, but let me add my two cents to the anti-Joan Crawford list.

Leave a Reply

