Hush, Hush, Sweet Charlotte

Below is a pitcure taken a few months ago of our sweet little cat Charlotte, sleeping peacefully, snoring softly.

Charlotte was a rescue, my Wife found her at the Irvine Animal Shelter, a shelter that keeps the animals until they find a home, no matter how long that takes. Charlotte had been there a while, being unfriendly and very shy, a poor combination for adoption. But this wonderful little face stole Wife’s heart, and mine later when I met her. Over time she became very loving and she shared the bed with us every night. She was really smart, but no cat can outsmart kidney failure, and now she is gone.

Hush, Hush, Sweet Charlotte.
You ran a good race, little one, now you are in a better place.

About Richard Robinson

Enjoying life in Portland, OR
This entry was posted in At Home in Portland, Personal Opinion and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Hush, Hush, Sweet Charlotte

  1. My condolences to you folks. I know how an animal can become a valued family member.

  2. Richard says:

    Thanks, Randy. I’m afraid this will be a tough day or two, until I can adjust some.

  3. You have my sympathies for your loss.

  4. Bill Crider says:

    My condolences. Judy and I know how you’re feeling.

  5. Richard says:

    George, Bill – thanks. Yep, feeling pretty low just now. It’ s only been a couple of hours… in spite of the other cats, there’s a hole in the house just now.

  6. My condolences.

    Our cat – Stimpy – is not long for this world either; perhaps he’ll hook up with Charlotte in the not too distant future. He’s 20 and his kidneys are going, though blood work recently showed an improvement in his levels (unusual) – but on top of that he’s got an overactive thyroid and may have just gotten over a urinary tract infection (hopefully).

    We do our best for these guys – give them a loving home, care for them, try to make them as comfortable and happy as they make us, but in the end we must always say goodbye.

  7. Richard says:

    So true, Steve. Some say it’s easier to forgo pets than go through this pain, but I disagree, even knowing this day always comes.

  8. Scott Cupp says:

    My condolences, Rick. Sandi and I have lost three cats in the last ten years and very nearly another one the other day. It’s heartbreaking each time. Rest in peace, sweet Charlotte.

  9. Charles Gramlich says:

    I’m sorry. A very lovely kitty.

  10. Richard says:

    Scott – thanks. It never gets easier.

    Charles – yes. She was a very small cat, not much over half the size of our biggest male, but she packed one hell of a personality, once she got comfortable with us and bloomed. I’m really going to miss feeling her laying against my ankle tonight.

  11. Patti Abbott says:

    I have never had a pet. I am incredibly allergic. But I did lose a baby so I know how you feel.

  12. Jerry House says:

    It’s amazing how they can worm their way into your heart, isn’t it? I’m so sorry.

  13. Drongo says:

    My condolences. When I was a kid we had this one great cat whose company I particularly enjoyed. He’s been gone for years, but I still think of him almost every day.

  14. Richard says:

    Patti – many people would say you loss is far beyond the loss of an old, sick cat, regardless of how much she may have been loved. I’d be one of them. But these critters do become like children, especially to someone with no kids of their own, which is my case. Thanks for your condolences.

    Jerry – yes indeed, it is. They really, really do, even when there are several in the house (all our cats are inside only). Charlotte liked to get up and stretch out on my chest while I read. Sniff.

    Drongo – That sure happens. I had one particularly fine cat many years ago, Emily, against whom all others are measured. The creme de la chat. But Charlotte wasn’t far behind.

  15. Cap'n Bob says:

    Sorry to hear this, Rick. I’m sure she had a great home while she was with you.

  16. Carl V. says:

    I am so very, very sorry. Losing a beloved pet is never easy. I’ve only had to go through it once as an adult and I still miss him. Your tribute is wonderful and indicates how Charlotte was more than just an animal and was indeed a part of your family. Please accept my heartfelt condolences.

  17. Richard says:

    Bob – thanks, we gave the best we could.

    Carl – yes, it’s difficult. She – all our cats – are much more than “animal pets”. They have unique personalities, they interact and have roles to play and behaviors that make them part of the family. When one can no longer go on, due to illness, age or injury, it’s heartbreaking. Thanks for your comments.

  18. Evan Lewis says:

    We lost one a few months back. Death sucks.

  19. I’m so sorry, Rick. I know how much of a heartbreaker this is. Please allow yourselves time to grieve.

  20. Todd Mason says:

    You gave her an excellent latter chunk of life, sounds like…and she does look sweet. Having lost cats, dogs, rabbits, hamsters and fish (and it’s a little tough to get too attached to fish, but possible), as well as happily relatively few people so far, further condolence. I help my friend Alice with her three rescues as much as I can.

  21. Richard says:

    We do the best we can for these critters we come to love, but they still get away from us. Grieving is what I’m doing, Laurie, as much as I need to move on. My marbled Bengal took over the spot by my feet last night, as if he knew there needed to be a cat there…

  22. merlin513 says:

    so sorry for your & wife’s loss. Just remember all the love that you gave Charlotte and she returned whole-heartedly. She had a much better life because wife fell in love with that face.

  23. Richard says:

    Thanks, Merlin, you are right, we did our best for her and she had a good, safe, comfortable life here with us. It’s just so darn hard to lose these lovely little creatures!

Leave a Reply

