Bookshelves! part 2

The library finally begins to deserve it’s name, as the room gets it’s shelves. The carpenter/cabinet maker finished the last of it mid-day today. The pictures show the bones, we’re still putting in the adjustable shelves, but you can see the left side is pretty much done. Made of oak, these shelves are beautiful!

The original plan was that this room would house the paperbacks, though we’re not sure they’ll all fit. No matter, this is a great start and we really love the room with these in it.

We’re already talking with these guys about phase two of our book storage plans, but for now, we’re getting books out of boxes, or will be starting tomorrow. It’s going to take a considerable time to get them sorted and alphabetized, but it’ll be a happy chore.

About Richard Robinson

Enjoying life in Portland, OR
This entry was posted in At Home in Portland, books, reading and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Bookshelves! part 2

  1. Bill Crider says:

    Beautiful, for sure. And they’ll look even better when full of books.

  2. Patti Abbott says:

    Assuming you have no forgotten book today.

  3. Charles Gramlich says:

    A beautiful picture!

  4. Richard says:

    Bill – I agree, we’re just wrestling with the spacing. If I were to do them for all mass market pb, I could get at least one more shelf per column, maybe two. As it is, the danged trades make me use a taller space and less shelves, thus that “periodical shelf” below the wider fixed one.

    Evan – wait ’til you see them in person. It’s almost time to come help dig the books out, once I decide how to organize them; starting with the mysteries or the SF-F.

    Patti – yes, sorry. I’ve emailed you.

  5. Richard says:

    Charles – lots of empty bookshelves, waiting to be filled. It IS a beautiful picture.

  6. Jeff Meyerson says:

    Really, really nice. Can’t wait to see them filled. And make sure you take close enough pictures that we can see the titles!

  7. Richard says:

    Thanks, Jeff, I can’t wait to see them filled either. I’ll need to leave a little space at the end of each shelf for “growth”, of course.

  8. Diane and I love oak. We just had oak hardwood floors installed (Gunstock!). Most of our furniture is oak. Loading books on shelves…happy chore, indeed!

  9. J F Norris says:

    How I envy someone with a room with that much shelf space! Jeff’s idea about a photo revealing the titles is excellent although I imagine something probably far more taxing that building/filling the shelves. All the same I’d love to see the titles…

  10. Richard says:

    And so you shall, once the shelves are filled, or as filled as room for growth allows. It will take many photos, these shelves are about 96 inches tall.

  11. Ron Scheer says:

    I so need a wall of bookshelves. Yours are inspiring. Building them would cut into my reading time, however. . .

  12. Cap'n Bob says:

    My envy knows no bounds. Well, one bound. I’m glad I don’t have to foot the bill for those beauties.

  13. Carl V. says:

    Those are gorgeous, Richard. Absolutely gorgeous! I am so happy for you.

  14. Richard says:

    Ron – if you hire a carpenter to build them as we did, you can read while they build and install.

    Bob – they were expensive, but we had budgeted for them at the time we bought this house, and we think we got our money’s worth.

    Carl – thanks! I hope we’ll be moving on to the next phase by Spring, and that I see you getting some new book shelves soon too.

Leave a Reply

