New Arrivals – February 14-20

Sorry, folks, but I have nothing to report this time. As I mentioned last week, the buying and nots reading, let alone having anyplace to put them, made a halt necessary. It’s a good thing. There may be something next time, if the Postal and UPS folk are kind.

Meanwhile we spent Friday, Saturday working our backsides off in the garden, putting in new shrubs and a tree, just in time for the predicted 4 inches of snow and temps in the 20s on Wednesday-Friday. It’s it’s Forsythia, Liliacs, Witch Hazel and a Japanese Maple, so they should be okay, I just hate to have newly planted things get hit this hard.

The media storage case is put together at last! Pictures to follow.

About Richard Robinson

Enjoying life in Portland, OR
This entry was posted in Personal Opinion. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to New Arrivals – February 14-20

  1. Charles Gramlich says:

    I’m gonna buy a bunch tonight. the Borders store here is going out of biz and giving some big discounts

  2. Jeff Meyerson says:

    No books here either, Rick. I haven’t bought anything since we’ve been in Florida. I’m saving all my buying for when we hit London at the end of March.

  3. Richard says:

    Charles – hope you find some good stuff. I’m a little surprised the store isn’t sending the books to another, non-closing store. We were going to our Borders yesterday (it’s not on the close list) but got too busy with other projects.

    Jeff – ah, the world traveler. I’ll email my “get in England ” list right away… 😉

  4. I’m surprised one of our two BORDERS stores is not closing. Both escaped the hit list. Maybe my weekly visits and purchases are having some saving effect.

  5. Richard says:

    George – you’re probably right, since volume was one of the criterion for the cut list.

  6. Patti Abbott says:

    We had 10 inches of snow. I guess winter isn’t over and I should have stayed in CA longer.

  7. Jeff Meyerson says:

    Wait until we get home and then send me your list, if it’s not too extensive.

    I see the Borders on Park Avenue where we go when we go to the Brits Off Broadway shows at 59 and Madison is closing.

  8. Jeff Meyerson says:

    Rick, my brother says they are predicting the first “valley snow” of the year in Portland on Thursday. Hope you’re prepared.

  9. Richard says:

    Jeff – when it’s even a little icy we can’t get down (or back up) our hill, so when they said we could see 4 inches between Wed-Fri., we went to Costco and stocked up. We hope we don’t lose power, as heat could be an issue and it’s mighty inconvenient. Got flashlights and candles just in case.

Leave a Reply

