New Arrivals February 7 – 13, 2011

Five things this time and then that’s it for a while. Yes, you read that right, nothing more in the pipeline, nothing “in the basket”, nothing on pre-order, nothing expected. I’ve been on a bit of a binge and I’m backing off just a bit while I work on the house and, hopefully, do some reading. So here is the cover gallery and list, you know the drill: click to enlarge.

The Crime at Black Dudley by Margery Allingham [Felony & Mayhem Press 2006 trade paper, new] – mystery – Kudos to Felony & Mayhem Press for publishing, and keeping in print, this excellent series of books. I read and enjoyed several Campion books by Allingham a couple decades ago, but didn’t buy or read them all, for whatever reason. This is the first in the series, not his best performance, from what I know of it, but I decided to fill in the gaps in my Allingham books.

Look to the Lady by Margery Allingham [Felony & Mayhem Press 2006 trade paper, new] – mystery – Kudos to Felony & Mayhem Press for publishing, and keeping in print, this excellent series of books. See above for more information. This is the 3rd in the Campion series.

Sweet Danger by Margery Allingham [Felony & Mayhem Press 2007 trade paper, new] – mystery – Kudos to Felony & Mayhem Press for publishing, and keeping in print, this excellent series of books. This one is the 5th in the Campion series.

Collected Stories by Lewis Shiner [Subterranean Press 2009 hardcover, new] – fiction short story collection – this collects 41 stories written over the length of Shiner’s career as an author. I found out about this on George Kelley’s blog and ordered it right away. Now, the trick will be to find time to read it.

The Man in Purple by Johnston McCulley [Altus Press, 2010 limited edition hardcover, new] – pulp fiction reprint – After he had created Zorro, McCulley went on to create The Man in Purple. These stories have not previously been printed in a complete edition, and this volume also includes a new story written by pulp writer (also collector and expert) Tom Johnson. I’d not heard of this hero but the book looked interesting, so I ordered it.

About Richard Robinson

Enjoying life in Portland, OR
This entry was posted in fantasy, mystery, Personal Opinion, reading, science fiction and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to New Arrivals February 7 – 13, 2011

  1. Evan Lewis says:

    Never heard of The Man in Purple, but I’ve yet to read a McCulley story I didn’t like.

  2. The Man In Purple I’ve heard of and had considered. You now have me more interested. I’ll be ordering this one soon.

    The Campion series I’ve not read either, I may have to check some of them out. Thanks for the link.

    I got the Shiner collection in as well. As you say, finding the time to read this may not be easy. I’ll likely dip into it from time to time with a story or two. I will get to the end.

  3. I’m not a fan of Allingham’s works. I ordered the Shiner, too.

  4. Jeff Meyerson says:

    I’m with George on Allingham. I read half a dozen when I was first reading British mysteries in the early 70’s (including BLACK DUDLEY) but finally decided it wasn’t for me.

    I’ll have the Shiner book waiting for me when we get home.

  5. Charles Gramlich says:

    That “Man in purple” certainly sounds interesting.

  6. Art Scott says:

    I’d never heard of The Man in Purple, but I do know The Crimson Clown, also a McCulley invention. Any slight possibility that these two pulp characters might be formulaic twins? The CC’s adventures were, by far, the worst crap I’ve read in years. Available from Ramble House (or from me for cost of shipping, to get the stench off my bookshelf. Come on Evan, put your McCulley-love to the acid test!)

  7. Jerry House says:

    With those five books, you have for quality over quantity.

    Unlike George and Jeff, I am an Allingham fan. It was interesting to watch Albert Campion evolve and mature over the length of the series (and into Carter Young’s continuations). Reminds me of the evolution of Ellery Queen.

    I really like Thubway Tham, so I have explore The Man in Purple sometime soon. The Shiner looks very interesting.

  8. Richard says:

    I haven’t dipped into any of these, the Allingham books I read a decade or three ago were mid series, and I do know that Campion began as a lot more silly a character then he ended up. I thought I’d fill some holes with these, but I’ll not buy more, probably.

    The Man in Purple was bought mostly because I had a 50% off coupon and decided to take a flyer on it.

    The Shiner was bought on George’s recommendation.

    Now to go out in the rain and talk with the yard maintenance guy who’s coming in a few minutes about clearing some wild blackberry (very invasive here), digging a few holes (for shrubs) in the very rocky soil, and doing some light hauling…

  9. Evan Lewis says:

    Thanks for the Crimson Clown warning, Mr. Scott. I’ll take your word for it. I refuse to pay real money just to be disillusioned.

  10. merlin513 says:

    I’m with Jerry, I’m a huge Allingham fan! It took me years to get all the Campion books because i was looking for them before PBS Mystery aired the series with Peter Davidson as Campion. Once that aired they were almost all reprinted in paperback. Some books i’ve got the original British hardback, then the American print with differing names (which made actually figuring out how many there actually were interesting to say the least) and then the paperbacks! ^_^ I loved the way you could follow Campion thru his lifetime and see how the world was changing throughout his life. Also a huge Ellery Queen fan, I collected the books where Ellery was the main character, not so much a fan of the other books. My Dad still reads Ellery Queen’s Mystery Magazine, he has a neat little stack in the bathroom. ^_^

Leave a Reply

