New Arrivals – January 24-30

Things continue to trickle in. This time I’ve got a fantasy trilogy and two mysteries. As usual, click to see larger image of covers.

Daughter of the Forest by Juliet Mariller [TOR Fantasy 2000 mass market paperback, new] – fantasy fiction – Sevenwaters Trilogy volume 1

Son of the Shadows by Juliet Mariller [TOR Fantasy 2001 mass market paperback, new] – fantasy fiction – Sevenwaters Trilogy volume 2

Child of the Prophecy by Juliet Mariller [TOR Fantasy 2002 mass market paperback, new] – fantasy fiction – Sevenwaters Trilogy volume 3

This well-reviewed fantasy trilogy is in a sub-genre sometimes called “folklorist fantasy”, but has the traditional elements of evil enchantress, spells, a difficult quest, along with, the reviews tell me, a strong dose of romance. I’ve not read anything by this author, or any fantasy of this type, but am looking forward to it.

The Skull Mantra by Eliot Pattison [St. Martin’s Minotaur 1999 trade paper, new] – mystery fiction – this novel, an Edgar Award winner, the plot involves a headless corpse found in the high Himalayas, dressed in American clothes. The case is handed to veteran police inspector Shan Tao Yun, who is  a prisoner, having been deported to Tibet for offending someone in the Beijing power-structure. Shan is granted temporary release to work the case, which quickly turns political and blood-soaked. This one is already on my Very Short List.

Disco for the Departed by Colin Cotterill [Soho Crime, 2006 trade paper, new] – mystery fiction – this is the 3rd in Cotterill’s series of novels about Dr. Siri Paiboun, reluctant Coroner of Laos. I loved the first book, and though I haven’t read the second one, bought this when I saw it on sale.

About Richard Robinson

Enjoying life in Portland, OR
This entry was posted in fantasy, mystery, reading and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to New Arrivals – January 24-30

  1. Evan Lewis says:

    That trilogy looks interesting, but you know what I want to know – is it really only a trilogy? I checked. Appears there are already two more books in the series. Guess I’ll have to stick with my rule: Read no fantasy until the author is defunct.

  2. Richard says:

    Evan – my understanding, from the author site and reviews, is that the Sevenwaters Trilogy is a complete set. The author later decided to write additional books set n the same “world”, but these 3 are stand-alone. I sure hope that’s right, because I share your dislike of incomplete story lines, one of the reasons I didn’t buy more than the first Robert Jordan book (the other being I wasn’t thrilled with the first one).

  3. THE SKULL MANTRA looks enticing. I await your review.

  4. Jeff Meyerson says:

    What George said. I’ve never read Pattinson but he always sounds interesting.

    Of course I’m a big Dr. Siri fan and have read all of Cotterill’s books in the series to date.

  5. Charles Gramlich says:

    Disco for the departed. Now THAT is a title.

  6. Richard says:

    George, I’ll do that review as soon as it’s read, but I don’t know when that will be, thnigs are starting to pile up and I’ll be taking things out of boxes in a few weeks, which will return to me my old TBR stacks.

  7. Richard says:

    Jeff & Charles – I like that title too, Charles. I also really like the book I read and once I find the second one, Thirty-Three Teeth, I’ll read it.

  8. Patti Abbott says:

    Greetings from La Jolla and thanks for reminding me about Cotterill.

  9. We were socked with about 6 inches of heavy, wet snow, Rick. Fortunately, my snow blower was equal to the task of removing all that dense White Stuff. I plan to hunker down and read for the rest of the day.

  10. Richard says:

    Good for you, (and big red), George, don’t forget to have your oatmeal!

  11. Carl V. says:

    I have always admired the John Jude. Palencar covers of those Juliet Marriler books. I will be paying close attention to your reviews for them, whenever you get around reading them, as I’ve been tempted to pick these, and other of her works, up in the past because of cover art.

Leave a Reply

