Is it a Guy Thing?

In the previous post, I show the leather chair I ordered last week. Patti Abbott (her fine blog is HERE) posted a comment that her husband has one that is similar and that he loves it. That got me thinking: is a big ol’ comfy leather chair a guy thing?

I’m going to be using the chair in a room with a lot of books, and it’s intended to be primarily used for reading or browsing, or perhaps listening to music. But what I had in mind was a chair like unto one might find in the library of the Diogenes Club.

Would most women prefer something smaller, or a chair with fabric instead of leather? Perhaps it’s a matter of style, the classic club or lounge style leather chair is fairly large and has a pretty specific shape and style. I know wife who is 5’6″ prefers a chair that’s less deep and tall, so she has back support and her feet can be firmly on the floor when she’s sitting. So there’s that, and there’s leather, and there’s style. What do you think?

About Richard Robinson

Enjoying life in Portland, OR
This entry was posted in Personal Opinion, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Is it a Guy Thing?

  1. Jerry House says:

    My father had a large, comfortable leather-covered chair and ottoman which my mother held onto for more than twenty years after he died. Shortly before she passed away she had it recovered in a God-awful leather shade called sea-foam. She loved it and it passed on to me. I turfed it onto my daughter. It used to be comfortable. Really.

  2. Richard says:

    Yes, but did she use it, or just keep it and love it because it was his? Would she ever have bought that chair for herself? Also, why didn’t you keep it, Jerry?

  3. Carl V. says:

    Could be. I have a big two-seater leather chair and ottoman in the living room and it is the prime place for me to read. My wife prefers to read in our Lazy Boy recliner in the back room (when I’m in there on the computer or XBox 360) or laying on the couch in the living room.

  4. Jeff Meyerson says:

    Jackie liked your chair but said she’d have gotten a recliner instead, but that’s partly (at least) because she has trouble with her knee and it’s better to keep her leg up.

  5. Richard says:

    Wouldn’t an ottoman would have done that, Jeff?

  6. Jerry House says:

    Richard, my parents were both Yankees; disposing of things was anathema to them. The chair was very comfortable and I used it whenever I was over. After it was recovered, it just wasn’t as comfortable. Also, “sea foam” is a pretty jarring color. My mother spent a lot of time picking the color. It was delivered the day before she died and she was thrilled with it. I’m very glad she had a chance to see it and appreciate it, but, for me, the comfort and the memories were gone.

  7. Art Scott says:

    I had a big leather recliner which I eventually wore out. Replaced it with a fabric recliner, which I prefer, since I’m usually wearing shorts, and bare skin on leather is sweatier than on fabric. The recliner is in the music-tv room, and the reading I do there is mostly casual and non-fiction. I rarely read fiction in the comfy chair [“No one expects the Spanish Inquisition!” http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XnS49c9KZw8%5D. I do my fiction reading in bed before lights out, usually for an hour and a half or thereabouts.

  8. Richard says:

    Jerry, thanks for the explanation. I admit, sea foam green isn’t a color I’d ever expect to see on a leather chair.

  9. Richard says:

    Art – I can understand the bare-skin-on-leather thing, though in my experience the leather warms quickly after the first shock. This chair is bought specifically for the lower level book room, and though I’ll have a very small music system there, it’s not for serious listening. When the warmer temps come, I’ll have to decide what to do about that, so far, the shorts have stayed in the dresser. That’s a M. Python I’d missed, thanks for the link.

    BTW, The Perp went out this afternoon, Priority.

  10. Charles Gramlich says:

    hum, a prefer a reclining deck chair.

  11. Patti Abbott says:

    I sit on the sofa and with a footstool because I am 5′ 3 and the sofa is deep. If the chair is too comfy, I fall asleep.

  12. Todd Mason says:

    I’m a lacto-ovo-vegetarian (or the lazy kind, I note at times) and even before dropping meat per se hated the smell of leather. Some leather is olfactorily stronger than other leather goods, but none of it smells good. Naugahyde or fabric is preferable.

    Any reasonably comfortable chair, couch or bed will do…

  13. Richard says:

    Charles – and the cruise ship to go under it?

    Patti, wife has the same concern, always puts pillows behind her and prefers her feet up. When I do it, they just go to sleep.

    Todd – I hadn’t thought of the smell being offensive. All the furniture I grew up with was upholstered in cloth, but leather chairs were considered luxurious, so I associate the smell of leather with that, plus there is the leather club chair concept. I don’t notice the smell of our leather A&C sofa at all, nor my desk chair, or maybe I’m so used to them it’s not a conscious thought.

  14. Carl V. says:

    I don’t notice my leather chair smelling like leather either, though that might be because of whatever it was treated with, but my leather jacket still has a leather smell, though not as strong, after years of owning it. I like it. Or at the very least it doesn’t bother me.

  15. merlin513 says:

    A leather club chair (preferably old and well-used) is one of my ultimate wishes!
    Almost all of my furniture is vintage, (I call my style ‘early american flea market’) and i’ve got several lovely old 1920’s club type chairs with frankly horrendous damask upholstery, (which the cats are stealthly shredding) but I adore them. Of course I don’t sit in or on furniture properly anyway. I plop down sideways with a cushion for support and don’t move for hours. So count me as an oddball on your survey, I’m female, I love your chair and wish you many happy hours in it!

Leave a Reply

