my new reading chair!

After hunting our area both on the internet and doing some calling around, today we went to a small furniture store I’d found. In addition to a nightstand and dresser for the still bed-less guest room, and a side table, we bought a chair and ottoman for the book~reading room. The chair is glorious and I had to share a photo with you.

This is the manufacturer’s catalog shot. The chair and matching ottoman are in top-quality leather in the color shown. It is very well made and will last longer, probably, than I will. Plus, it’s sinfully comfortable. For those who may wonder, no, it’s not a recliner. I’ll have enough trouble staying awake in this as it is.

It’s on order and hopefully we’ll have it here about the same time the new bookcases go in, three or four weeks from now.

About Richard Robinson

Enjoying life in Portland, OR
This entry was posted in At Home in Portland and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to my new reading chair!

  1. Carl V. says:

    Awesome! I’m so excited for you. I looks comfortable. I could see myself sleeping…er, reading…in that chair. Will be nice to see pics of it in the room with the new bookcases.

  2. Evan Lewis says:

    Now I have chair envy.

  3. Todd Mason says:

    Always fun to nest. Now, how many of the cats will find the leather irresistable for “sharpening”?

  4. Looks very comfy. I want a recliner at some point.

  5. Jeff Meyerson says:

    Nice. Now that looks really comfy. Enjoy it.

  6. Is this a reading chair or a listening chair or a watching TV chair or all three?

  7. Richard says:

    George – for reading, maybe some listening though there will be only a small CD-Radio unit in the room. Definitely no TV in the Book Room!

  8. Richard says:

    Thanks everyone. I know the posts have been thin of late, but I’ll try to pick it up soon. Right now I’m trying to get finished with the current – last – issue of my in-print apa-zine.

  9. Cap'n Bob says:

    Handsome chair. I’m a recliner man, myself.

  10. Richard says:

    I don’t mind recliners, Bob, though they tend to be very heavy to move, can be difficult to operate or at least for me to get out of, and most take a good deal of room. These days I guess I just prefer to have my feet on the floor, though the ottoman will give me the feet up option, and will be the second place to sit if there is a visitor to this sanctum.

  11. Patti Abbott says:

    Phil has a similar one. Loves it.

  12. Todd Mason says:

    And there’s the cat problem with recliners…the littler ones, particularly, love to climb into them, sometimes with disastrous results.

  13. Richard says:

    Good point, Todd. Our cats are curious enough, and inclined to climb into anyplace they can. I’m hoping they will not claw the chair, as they have not done so to the leather sofa upstairs. I’m an ottoman / foot stool man, not a recliner man. Besides, an ottoman serves as a second seating option, something a recliner can’t do.

    It’s this darn waiting that’s difficult – bookshelves are ordered, furniture is bought, even a guest bed is out there somewhere, but it all has to work it’s way through the system and get to the house. It will be weeks, maybe months… Well okay, about 3-4 weeks for most of it.

  14. Gunnar Grip says:

    Have a look at the reading chair of Carl von Linné and make the copy on your own at home from our prints.

Leave a Reply

