New Arrivals, January 2 – 9

Seems like a long time since a New Arrivals post, how time flies! Happy New year to everyone! Things here are about the same as far as getting my books out of boxes and onto shelves, but a few new things did trickle in. I must say, I had two disappointments. Used books, graded VG, from ABE sellers, usually aren’t beat-up, corner creased, sticker encrusted, written in ex-lib items with dirty covers. I keep a list of sellers with whom I will not do repeat business and this company is now on it. Also, one book store I went through to get a signed John Scalzi book charged me over $8 shipping on the $15 paperback, which was ordered early December and received January 6th. Sheesh.

Enough of that, here are the new arrivals. As usual, click to see a larger image.

Agent to the Stars by John Scalzi [Tor, 2005 trade paper, signed and inscribed, new] – science fiction – I like Scalzi’s writing, voice and plotting.

Epitaph for a Tramp and Epitaph for a Deadbeat by David Markson [S&H (Shoemaker & Hoard) 2007 trade paper, new] – mystery, P.I. – the first of these, Tramp, this recently reviewed by Bill Crider, I just had to have this one, and with both Harry Fannin titles, from 1959 and 1961, in one volume, plus Robert McGinnis covers front and back, it’s a must.

Marvels: Eye of the Camera by Kurt Busiek & Roger Stern, writing, and Jay Anacleto, art [Marvel Publishing 2010 trade paper, new] – graphic novel/collected comic series – recently reviewed by James Reasoner, this is the first sequential art I’ve bought since the move. I like Kurt Busiek’s scripting a lot. I’m not as fond of Anacleto’s style, but it works.

Giving Birth to Thunder, Sleeping with His Daughter by Barry Lopez [Avon (Harper Perennial) 1990 trade paper, new] – mythology –  After having read Lopez’ Of Wolves and Men, River Notes and Desert Notes, I found a paperback copy of this, sometime in the early 1980s, then as by Barry Holston Lopez. It’s a recounting of many Native American creation tales and is subtitled Coyote Builds North America. That copy is long gone, and after a recent conversation with Carl V. at Stainless Steel Droppings reminded me of it, I got this replacement.

Operator # 5: The History of the Purple Wars by Harrison Stievers [Altus Press, 2008 trade paper, new] – look at the series (thanks to Evan Lewis for the correction) – Altus Press books are POD by Lulu Press – Haven’t read any Operator # 5, thought this might be a good starting place.

Selected Short Stories of John O’Hara by John O’Hara, introduction by Louis Begley [Modern Library 2003 trade paper edition (poor quality), used] – general fiction – it’s a pity O’Hara’s short stories aren’t in print, this was the best copy I could find, though this is pretty much only a reading copy. But then, it’s the stories that matter. After reading a Graham Greene collection, I’m eager to compare authors.

Stoner by John McGahern [New York Review Book, 2003 trade paper, new] – general fiction – recently reviewed by Patti Abbott on her blog Pattinase, this sounded so intriguing I bought a copy. Not Williams’ best known work, but a plot I may relate to in some fashion.

TumTum & Nutmeg: Adventures Beyond Nutmouse Hall by Emily Bearn, illustrated by Nick Price [Little, Brown, 2009 hardcover omnibus volume, new] – children’s – I enjoyed the second volume of three classic, traditional children’s stories of the simple adventures and happy endings of these mice characters, so I got the first one.

About Richard Robinson

Enjoying life in Portland, OR
This entry was posted in reading, science fiction and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to New Arrivals, January 2 – 9

  1. I’ve read STONER (a great book) and John O’Hara’s short stories (in different editions). Wonderful stuff! Sorry the Ducks didn’t win last night. I thought they might pull the upset, but Auburn was too much.

  2. Charles Gramlich says:

    That operator five looks tres cool.

  3. Richard says:

    George (and all) – the Oregon Ducks were awful last night. Right now I think Alabama is the best, or was three weeks ago, college football team in the country. Stanford and TCU are there too.
    With no running game and spotty pass defense – there’s no O in “pass defense” – Oregon didn’t really have a chance, even against an Auburn team that only scored 22 points.

    I can’t understand why O’Hara isn’t in print!

  4. Richard says:

    Charles – I’ll be reading and reviewing it as soon as I can.

  5. Todd Mason says:

    Sadly, O’Hara isn’t in print because no one is making films of his work…and perhaps his executors are hard to deal with. Greene was, fairly or not, seen as a greater artist, and keeps being adapted for film.

  6. Richard says:

    Todd – makes sense, though I dislike that logic for keeping a fine writer in print.

  7. Carl V. says:

    More good stuff! Sorry to hear about the damages to some of it though. I sell books online and go out of my way to be honest about the quality AND package items in the manner in which I would want them sent to me. I think that is the only fair thing to do. I had an incident with a half.com seller late last year who sold me a “Brand new” boxed set of 4 of Christopher Tolkien’s History of Middle-earth books. They arrived poorly packed, beat beyond belief, and promptly were shipped back for a full refund. But not without some an email scuffle. It shouldn’t be that way.

    I must admit that I’ve been a bad John Scalzi fan, as I have this book (and his edited book Metatropolis) and still have not read it.

  8. Richard says:

    Carl – I’m not sending it back, but I’ll make an exception and give a lower rating to these sellers. It’s one thing to say a book is in fair condition and sell it as such (appropriately priced) and another to tout it as in better condition than it is. They didn’t even bother to dust it off.

  9. Evan Lewis says:

    Haven’t seen The History of the Purple Wars, but I’ve been tempted. It’s not an Operator 5 reprint, but a history of the action in The Purple Invasion, an epic cycle that lasted 11 or 12 issues (depending you you look at it). If this whets your appetite, I have have reprints of the whole she-bang.

  10. Nice choices here. I have the Scalzi, not autographed though.

  11. Richard says:

    Thanks for the correction, Evan. I haven’t read it yet, obviously. I’ll let you know.

    The Scalzi is inscribed “Richard, we book people stick together!”

  12. Jeff Meyerson says:

    Great list of stuff this week. I’ve read all of O’Hara’s stories that I could find, though there are a few early ones that have eluded me. In all I’ve probably read a couple of hundred but I can’t find my list at the moment.

    As a Scalzi fan I’ll probably read that one eventually, and the Operator 5 sounds like fun.

    I got six books last week, all from the Exchange. One was the previously mentioned Last Summer by Evan Hunter, and the other five were Ross Macdonald paperbacks: The Barbarous Coast, The Doomsters, The Far Side of the Dollar (which I could have sworn I’d read), The Instant Enemy and Black Money.

  13. Richard says:

    great stuff, Jeff. What are you taking to FLA when you go at the end of the month?

  14. Patti Abbott says:

    O’Hara was a wonderful short story writer. Hope you like Stoner.

Leave a Reply

