decision made, but now to wait

The second carpenter’s bid (see previous post) was much more affordable, and with a slight reduction in the amount of work, it’s a manageable amount. I called him to say “you’re hired!” but could only leave a message. That was last evening, still no response. As one of the commenters yesterday said, you’d think in this economy these people would be eager for the work, but it seems that’s not the case.

One thing I’ll do is buy Taiwan / China / wherever-made CD media storage cabinet. I’ll probably have to add some horizontal bracing to make it more sturdy, but it will hold a lot of CDs and that’s the main point. Instead of custom built into a specific spot, I’ll put it against a long wall and have done with it.

The $ will go to the bookcases going into the lower level book room, and with some of the money we save by hiring carpenter #2 I’ll buy a comfy reading chair and side table. Unfortunately, this guy is busy and can’t even start until the end of the month.

About Richard Robinson

Enjoying life in Portland, OR
This entry was posted in At Home in Portland, Personal Opinion and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to decision made, but now to wait

  1. Carl V. says:

    Well at least you will soon have a firm date and will be able to look forward to it. Did you decide not to build bookshelves in that large open space? Just asking because I’m not sure what “lower level book room” means.

  2. Bill Crider says:

    Excellent! I hope the guy calls back soon.

  3. Richard says:

    He did tell me yesterday he would be in his annual contractor’s license one-day re-certification class today from 8-5, so hopefully I’ll hear from him later. Meanwhile, Go Seahawks!

  4. I’m glad you found someone affordable. Funny – in my experience, phones and contractors (or handymen, whatever) don’t mix. It’s like they don’t know the importance of returning phone calls. When I was calling around to get bids on my house in San Pedro (and I did a lot of work), I could call 10 contractors – maybe one would return my call.

  5. Glad things are moving along, if not smoothly, and some sort of end is in sight. Or just over the horizon anyway.

    Your Seahawks pulled it off, much to Charles’ chagrin. My AFC team, the Jets, squeaked by Manning and the Colts. Go Jets!

  6. I made a few bucks by taking the Seahawks and the points. The Saints had too many injuries. And, Seahawk fans, making that trade with the Bills for Marshawn Lynch certainly turned out well for you. What a great run! Eight broken tackles!

  7. Patti Abbott says:

    I am always amazed at how hard it is to get things done around here. We were just at IKEA, which had an amazing amount of shelving. I don’t know if the quality is good enough though.

  8. Richard says:

    I went through every page of the Ikea site looking for shelving, bookcases, media storage, etc. Nothing that was going to work. The bookcases that might have been serviceable were too deep for my needs. I only need 10″, they were mostly 12-14″/ That’s wasted space and takes up more footprint than I want to give in the smallish room.

  9. Richard says:

    I doubt the Seahawks will be able to win the next one, so they may have succeeded only to drop another spot in the draft. The Jets were just lucky. Once again, the officials (through action or inaction) determine the outcome of a football game, instead of the players. Thanks God neither game went into OT and used the new, idiotic OT rules.

Leave a Reply

