New Arrivals – November 18 – December 12

It’s been a long while since I did a New Arrivals post, but it’s been a busy, chaotic time here. So here is almost 3 weeks worth. I stopped buying things well before we moved, but a few things came just a few days ago, items I couldn’t resist buying for myself (which drives Wife crazy – how can she pick a gift when I keep buying things for myself, she asks). If I’ve included a couple of these before, forgive, it’s been a hectic time. Enough chatter, here are the goods. As usual, click for a larger look.

Baker Street Irregular by Jon Lellenberg [Arkham House, 2010 hardcover, new] – I’m eager to read this one. It’s hard to describe, here’s part of the blurb from the publisher:

“BAKER STREET IRREGULAR is a mystery and espionage tale told by a member of a whimsical Sherlock Holmes club born in a speakeasy, as Woody Hazelbaker undergoes America’s political struggles in the 1930s and Second World War in the ’40s, stretching from the Great Depression’s worst year to the beginning of the Cold War. A young New York lawyer, Woody gets a cold dose of reality from a gangster client he keeps secret from the world, then puts stratagems he learned to use when he and other Baker Street Irregulars react to Hitler’s war against Europe’s democracies. Not only the Irregulars but Woody’s marriage are strongly divided over isolationism when Churchill’s Britain fights on alone.”

Berserkers: The Beginning by Fred Saberhagen [Baen Books 1998 mass market paperback, used copy – previously published as Berserkers (1967) and The Ultimate Enemy (1979)] – science fiction – two Berserker novellas combined.

Cold Magic by Kate Elliot [2010 trade paper, new] – fantasy – good reviews, so I bought it.

About Richard Robinson

Enjoying life in Portland, OR
This entry was posted in mystery, reading, science fiction and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to New Arrivals – November 18 – December 12

  1. Bill Crider says:

    The Lellenberg book is hard to describe, even after you read it, but it’s a lot of fun. Jon Breen gives if 4 stars in the latest EQMM. I have a lot of the others that arrived at your place, too.

  2. Jerry House says:

    You have tweaked my Jealousy Button up to “10”! Not a bad one in the bunch! Enjoy!

  3. Richard says:

    Thanks, Jerry. I think that’s a record for me, a 10 on the J-House scale.

  4. Richard says:

    Bill – I always assume you and George Kelley have every book I buy, get at the library, or even see in a review.

  5. Jeff Meyerson says:

    New books, at last! I think I’ll wait to comment until tomorrow. Congrats on getting the “entertainment system” up and running at last.

  6. randy Johnson says:

    Talk about jealousy! I want the two Haniltons, the Kuttner,the Moorcock/Lansdale, the Powers, and, though I’m not familiar with his work, the colin Harvey(the first volume as well). I have the Saberhagen in the original volumes I believe(the berserker series was a favorite in past years.

  7. You have some wonderful reading ahead of you, Rick! Those thick Haffner volumes are just great! I knew you would appreciate that Fritz Leiber collection. I had Art Scott hook up my stereo system and Patrick is my computer network expert. I’m getting to old to root around in a spaghetti of wiring. Good luck!

  8. Jeff Meyerson says:

    They’re pretty much all new to me. The Kuttner looks the most interesting.

    I did get some stuff myself – won’t mention the DVDs and such – but will just mention the books that have come in lately:

    Damn Near Dead 2 and ‘Nada by ‘Daniel Boyd’ are new. Also Hunt: Beyond the Frozen Fire by Gabriel Hunt (Christa Faust this time).

    Used books: Songbook (originally 31 Songs in England) by Nick Hornby, talking about some of his favorite songs and why he likes them. Even though most of them were unknown to me I always enjoy reading his non fiction, whether on books or music. Got this from the Exchange and already sent it back out.

    Also from the Exchange was Ashes to Ashes by Barbara Nadel, touted by George Easter, though I’d rather have started with the first in the series (this is the second).

    But the big one for me was a book I’ve been after for a long time. Last time I checked (granted, it was a long while ago) it was way out of my price range, but this time I was able to get it for about $8 plus postage: Ted Wood’s last Reid Bennett book, a href=”http://www.amazon.com/Clean-Kill-Reid-Bennett-Mystery/dp/0759294666/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1292251454&sr=1-1″>A Clean Kill.

    It was a British first, ex=library, in nice dust jacket.

  9. Jeff Meyerson says:

    Sorry – mesed that up.

    A Clean Kill.

  10. Richard says:

    Jeff – I have that Ted Wood, have the entire series in HC as a matter of fact, and like them a lot. Some of the series is stronger than others, of course, but they are books I’ve held on to through a few purges of the mystery section. All of mine were gotten from a Canadian bookseller whose name slips my mind just now but who used to be a regular at B’con. From Montreal, perhaps.

  11. Patti Abbott says:

    What a wonderful variety. That one sounds perfect to read to my grandson. I will check it out.

  12. Richard says:

    Both B&N and Borders should have it, Patti, in case you want to browse it before buying.

  13. Todd Mason says:

    Well, the one I’m going to need is that Leiber. Golly. I suspect I can guess at least one inclusion, a vignette from F&SF that I tried to buy second serial rights to but the agent in question was busy not answering my queries, despite my helping to turn up a plagiarism against Leiber. Ah, well, bile under the bridge.

    Though I wouldn’t mind having ’em all. The cover illo on the Elliott is easily the most handsome…

  14. Evan Lewis says:

    Dang. Those Ed Hamilton books do sound like a blast.

  15. I just got the Moorcock/Lansdale one in last week. Looking forward to giving it a go.

  16. Carl V. says:

    This is a nice set of arrivals! I’ve seen the image for the Kuttner book before and it is one I’d love to own, as is this Leiber collection and the other short story collection of his that came out not too long ago. I think we might have had this conversation before, but I have yet to read any Fred Saberhagen.

    Anthony Bourdain is the best, my wife and I really enjoy his show. Many of the series are available on Netflix on ‘watch instantly’ now and I want to take the time soon to go catch the episodes I’ve missed.

Leave a Reply

