Yes! A Post About Books! (Monday)

Be sure and check back Monday, when I will be posting a New Arrivals post which, at present, will show a dozen – count ’em, twelve – newly arrived books. That is, if you consider the time from just before the move to yesterday as “newly arrived”, which I do.

There are three really fine books from Haffner Press (and thanks to George Kelley for his review of one of them, which got me to their website!), one or more of which you will want in your holiday gift bag, plus some other things I’ve gotten as new home, housewarming, welcome gifts or just bought myself.

This buying myself things at this time of year is driving Wife crazy, but we have decided the house is our present to each other this year, or the new furniture, or the new rug, or the new TV and other electronics, or… so we’re not exchanging gifts anyway.

Tune in Monday (or after about 8:00 p.m. PST Sunday) for the first New Arrivals post in almost a month. Be there or be square.

About Richard Robinson

Enjoying life in Portland, OR
This entry was posted in Personal Opinion. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Yes! A Post About Books! (Monday)

  1. Jeff Meyerson says:

    Yay! Good news. I’ve been saving mine up. I got in a parcel of books and DVDs yesterday and I’m expecting another one – this time from England – soon. Will see if it gets here by Monday.

    George will be proud.

  2. randy Johnson says:

    Looking forward to the post.

  3. Thanks for the link, Rick! Diane and I learned long ago not to buy gifts for one another. Diane would buy me clothes and I would buy her books. Now, Diane buys the clothes she wants and I buy the books I want and we feign surprise in front of our kids on Christmas morning. Everyone is happy with this arrangement. No returns!

  4. Richard says:

    I bet you guessed the book George, It’s TERROR IN THE HOUSE.

    I like that plan, and in years past I have handed things to Wife and asked her to wrap them, but she likes to have surprises under the tree – or in this year’s situation, on the table.

    By the way, it has been POURING all day and they say temps will be dropping in a day or three, as soon as this rain slows down it may get icy or sleet-y. Yikes.

  5. Jeff Meyerson says:

    Rick, here it hasn’t been over 36 since Saturday. Today was in the 20’s most of the day. At least it’s been dry…but windy. They are predicting one day of 50 – Sunday – but accompanied by torrential rains.

    So, pick your poison.

  6. Richard says:

    Yep, 3/4 inch of rain so far today, another 1 inch by morning…

    There is some chance I will NOT have to go to the Post Office tomorrow, after 5 days in a row. Small blessings.

  7. Patti Abbott says:

    I wish someone would tell Phil not to buy me clothes. Jewelry is a good bet.

  8. Richard says:

    Diamonds are a girls best friend, eh, Patti?

  9. David H. Doerrer says:

    Hi Rick,
    Just been catching up on the Blog. I know you said it was easy to leave a comment, but after 2 minutes watching the “loading” symbol spinning around, I got an error message starting with “WHOA” and asking me to try again and “let us know’ (Who us?) if I got the same message. So I decided to be a good guy and try again. Worked.
    Dorothy & I came down early in TG week with a couple of really nasty sinus infections, courtesy of granddaughter Jamie, whom I promised her mother I would not refer to as “Typhoid Mary.” So I’ve been pretty much out of it; checking email but not responding to much.
    Comcast, at least in your area, presumably has no competition? That bit about not being able to talk to a supervisor is a bit much.
    I was beginning to get a bit concerned about the cats, until I saw the water & food dishes at the side of one picture.
    If you have uninterrupted wall space, you might consider standards and shelves for books. Perhaps not as elegant as purpose-built shelves, but considerably less expensive and very functional.
    It’s a very attractive house and area, and I wish you both many happy years there.
    Best,
    David

  10. Richard says:

    Thanks! The present plan is to put standing bookcases side-by-side downstairs (not really a “basement” since only part of one room is below grade) and built-ins on the main level. But we’ll see. Unfortunately, bookshelves/cases is not the priority at this point, so there is time for decision making. I’m kind of hoping for mid-late January, at which time hopefully we’ll have the proceeds from the home sale in SoCal in the bank.

Leave a Reply

