Avian Behavior

I hope everyone had a happy Thanksgiving! We managed to find the necessary pans and implements to roast a turkey, and have mashed potatoes, broccoli, pie and even were able to sit at the dining room table with candles lit. A first. It was really nice.

~  ~  ~  ~  ~

Like any bird, this Gray-bearded Bookminder is slowly building and lining the nest. It’s a long process, with the kitchen about 80% organized and more items (toaster, food processor, salad bowls, and so on) still not discovered. The boxes seem to go on forever, and Wife has done yeoman’s duty unpacking, washing, organizing and putting away with occasional help from the taller person who can reach high shelves.

The communications equipment is up and fully functional, with minor tweaking necessary and some new items in the pipeline as a result of Deep Discount Friday shopping at Ultimate Electronics yesterday, when we braved the rain and significant crowds to buy a Yamaha HD A/V receiver, Yamaha CD player, Sony Blu-Ray DVD player, Panasonic Plasma HD TV, Klipsch speakers and the assorted wires and cables. Plus a small chest freezer for the garage. It’s all to be delivered next week.

Today a new sofa and side chair are coming, as well as our new washer and dryer. We’re certainly doing our part to stimulate the economy! Things are getting done and the house becoming more functional and livable.

Books and CDs/DVDs are another matter, none have been unboxed except a half dozen CDs I’ve been playing on the computer. The problem is shelves, or lack of them, and I haven’t settled on a plan for the shelving. I’m leaning toward making my own CD shelves, but making them requires a working area and the tools all to be available in the garage, which is still in transition, full of boxes and disorganized. When we arrived, I was amazed to find the garage is without a single shelf or storage cabinet of any kind, just one bicycle hook. (!) Naturally all my scrap lumber was left behind (too expensive to move, I was told) so I don’t have even a small bit of wood, dowel or anything I might need, and with smallish 2-door coupes, anything over a few feet in length will have to be delivered. That means a lot of planning in order to minimize delivery charges. I may ask a friend with a pick-up for help with that, but I don’t want to do that too often.

I’ve considered buying used bookshelves, but they come with only the standard 3 or 4 shelves, are deeper than I need, especially for paperbacks, and even used ones are expensive. I’ve considered having a few things built in the living room area by a professional carpenter/cabinet maker, we have a large empty wall, but that’s an expense I’m not willing to take on just now, what with the other more necessary things in the budget. So we’ll see. For now, progress is being made, and that good.

About Richard Robinson

Enjoying life in Portland, OR
This entry was posted in At Home in Portland and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Avian Behavior

  1. Jeff Meyerson says:

    Your George Kelley Award for Economy Stimulator of the Month is in the mail.

    Sounds like you need 8 foot tall bookcases with 8 shelves like we have.

    Good luck. Things seem to be coming along.

  2. I’ve been stewing over the bookshelf dilemma for months now. A few months ago I broke down and bought two nice cheapie 6 1/2 foot tall ones at Big Lots for $25 each, and then had a friend put them together. I need at least 3 more.

    Sounds like things are coming together – enjoy all that new stuff!

  3. Bill Crider says:

    Those deep shelves are good for the inevitable double shelving!

  4. Richard says:

    Laurie – I remember you asking your readers if any had an idea, and wondered what you might have come up with. $25 each is cheap.

    Bill – I really, really, really want to not double shelve. This time I have lots of room (he said) and want to make good use of it. Wife has okay’d books in the living room, even encouraged it, so I’m going to spread the goods around in this place.

  5. Art Scott says:

    That must have been some trip to Ultimate Electronics! Is this stuff going to co-exist with Comcast? Don’t let The State With No Sales Tax go to your head!

  6. Cap'n Bob says:

    I bought some large plastic freestanding shelves for the garage that fit together without hardware and carry a lot of junk. For about six months we could actually put one car in the garage.

  7. I’d go the professional carpenter/cabinet maker route. You want the shelving done right. Living with “second best” only results in annoyance.

  8. Evan Lewis says:

    That pick-up is ready and waiting.

  9. Richard says:

    Evan – may need that for hauling some lumber, if it ever gets warm enough to work in the garage without getting frostbite! And I unpack all the tools, and have a workbench or at least some clear garage floor space, and…

    Bob, George – while I may not go the cabinet maker route now, I won’t use the plastic shelves for now either. Right now, I’m shelling out more dough for a garage door repair, the darn thing decided about an hour ago to stop going up more than a foot. I suspect a chain tension adjustment, but who knows?

  10. Carl V. says:

    If you feel in any way up to it after things settled down I, for one, would encourage you to build your own. That way you have maximum control over making exactly what you want and the costs will be as minimal as a project like this can be. Of course this all presupposes you feel comfortable doing this. I am lucky in having a father who is a craftsman living nearby so even though I have built my own shelves I have done so with the help and supervision of an expert.

    I know you have other priorities, but I can’t wait to see what you do and look forward to those pics of shelved books sometime in the future.

Leave a Reply

