Hey, What’s this White Stuff?

We got to Portland in fine weather, but two days later it rained for a couple of days followed by a clear beautiful day. Monday it rained some more, turning to snow in the evening. What? We were expecting the rain, it’s Portland, after all, but snow? Before Thanksgiving? It got down to 20 degrees or so the last two nights. What? Am I in Maine? Minnesota? Montana?

So I took some pictures. Those in areas where it snows will laugh, it wasn’t much of a snow storm here, though some parts of Portland got hit pretty hard and even made the national news (Seattle got hit much harder). So here you go. Oh, and have a wonderful Thanksgiving, everyone! We’ll cook something, I guess, if we can find the pans and plates any time soon. The packers seem to have mixed kitchen and garage stuff together… Anyway, here are the pictures:

Hold the mouse pointer over the picture to see it’s title, then click it to see the large version. Enjoy! (walks from room to the sound of “I’m dreaming of a White Thanksgiving“)

About Richard Robinson

Enjoying life in Portland, OR
This entry was posted in At Home in Portland and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Hey, What’s this White Stuff?

  1. Bill Crider says:

    Snow or no snow, I hope you have a great Thanksgiving in the new digs!

  2. Carl V. says:

    As a lover of the white stuff I am truly jealous. After a long white winter last year (44 inches of snowfall total), the weather prognosticators are predicting only 13 inches this year for the greater Kansas City area. I am crossing my fingers, hoping they are incorrect.

    A very Happy Thanksgiving to you and your wife in your new home, and Happy Thanksgiving wishes to all of you who read and comment on this blog.

  3. Richard says:

    Thanks, Bill and Carl, we’ll do our best. There is lots to be thankful for, some of it’s just a little hard to see right now. As for the snow, uh, I’m still not ready, I was expecting, based on all I had heard and read, all the weather profiles and decade high and low averages and so forth, for 20 and under with snow. Cool and rainy, yes, but this? Plus, Portland seizes up in 1/2 inch, as if it had been a foot dropping blizzard. Oh my.

  4. You guys will get used to it soon enough. Have a nice Thanksgiving.

  5. Richard says:

    Thanks, Randy, hope your Thanksgiving is a good one as well. As for getting used to it, the news people are saying this is the coldest weather, earliest snow, etc. sine 1985… so hopefully we won’t HAVE to get used to it.

  6. You’ll be happy to know that we have no snow here in the Buffalo area. We might get some lake-effect snow on Friday. Have a Happy Thanksgiving in you new home!

  7. Evan Lewis says:

    On behalf of the Portland Chamber of Commerce, I must note that this stuff is reserved for the folks living in shining houses on the hills. Down in my neighborhood, poverty flats, we got only a light dusting of frost, gone as soon as the sun came out.

  8. Drongo says:

    Now I’m getting a bit homesick.

  9. Todd Mason says:

    I’m slightly surprised how much your new place resembles my parents’ house/nabe…where I’ll be visiting tomorrow, down in the DC burbs. Happy Gobble, as one of my colleagues just called out to a departing officeworker.

    And, yes, isn’t it sad how a slight dusting freaks the unaccustomed…reminiscent of all the warnings every rainy season in Hawaii about O my, the roads are wet WATCH OUT! So slippery!

  10. Richard says:

    Evan – yes, sure, you bet, those news stories were just Photoshopped…

    Todd – have a happy gobble (or cluck or oink or whatever your meal choice) yourself. Drive safely.

    Drongo – then you’ll really get the feeling when I tell you that after 40 minutes in the garage looking for stuff, I can’t feel my ears.

  11. Jeff Meyerson says:

    Carl, you are welcome to any snow we have this season.

    Rick, that is truly amazing for Portland. I do remember one snowy Thanksgiving in New York when we had 6 inches or so and the best part was that the rest of the winter was virtually snow-free.

    Anyway, enjoy your Thanksgiving whatever you do. We’re just having a quiet dinner at home.

Leave a Reply

