New Arrivals October 25-31

I guess I should have expected there to be a few things in the birthday bag, but I thought – more to pack, so it will be anything but books and CDs… Wrong. I was surprised, really. Here it is.

I well recall the days when the local Tower Records store had a large soundtrack section; you could buy the latest or the oldies: scores, soundtracks, musicals and collections like “the film music of..”. Those days are long gone, replaced by a hodge-podge of hard copies and digital downloads available in a variety of places, but I miss browsing through the bins. A small outfit, Soundtrackers (email address: soundtrackers@adelphia.net), puts out a monthly newsletter with available soundtracks, sometimes new sometimes used but in excellent condition.My want list, sitting by the computer, went astray a few weeks ago, and turned up in a box on my birthday, with the CDs. Cool. Also the Steve Winwood is here, which I’ve wanted since George Kelley reviewed it months ago.

As for the books, Damage Time by Colin Harvey follows up his Winter Song, the Bourdain is a set of essays on his world travels, and Cold Magic is the first in Elliot’s Spiritwalkers trilogy.

Guess what? There are going right into a box, except the Onslow, which I’ll leave out for the car.

About Richard Robinson

Enjoying life in Portland, OR
This entry was posted in Classical Music, fantasy, mystery, science fiction. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to New Arrivals October 25-31

  1. The Winwood should go on my list. I’ve followed him through all the permutations(I have the blind Faith album on vinyl with a cover that certainly wouldn’t pass muster today, I think).

  2. Richard says:

    The fidelity is very good, most of the songs have a solid 2010 remix that doesn’t change things, just cleans it up.

  3. Jeff Meyerson says:

    The Winwood is terrific. I was listening to the stuff from Traffic just yesterday.

    The only new book I got in: I finished the books I’d brought with me on the trip so “had” to buy one at my parents’ library in Arizona. For fifty cents I got a paperback of the fourth Grif Stockley mystery about Arkansas lawyer Gideon Page, Illegal Motion.

  4. Bill Crider says:

    Some good stuff, though I admit I wasn’t that fond of Windtalkers.

  5. Jeff Meyerson says:

    That’s right – Mr. Cage didn’t turn into a zombie or ride a motorcycle at 200 mph in that one, did he?

  6. You’ll love the Winwood, Rick. Wow, you made out like a bandit with those Birthday presents! What’s left to buy you for Christmas???

  7. Richard says:

    I am loving he Winwood, George, and thanks to you for bringing it to my attention! For Christmas? Possibly some built-in bookshelves, a new reading chair, slippers, and an umbrella. Portland here we come.

    Bill – the film wasn’t that good, but the soundtrack is by James Horner, my favorite film music composer.

  8. Evan Lewis says:

    Mysterious goings on with that want list. Possibly the work of the Cottingley Fairies. Or a particularly thoughtful mrs.

  9. Patti Abbott says:

    Nice haul and very diverse.

  10. Carl V. says:

    Yummy Henri Mancini cover!

Leave a Reply

