New Arrivals October 4 – 10

Happy Columbus Day, everyone!

A few more than I expected, really, one that had been on pre-order (Wintertide), plus something old, something newish. Two books by James Reasoner, whose fine blog can be found here. Here they are, with – as always – the covers first and the descriptions below.

* * Click on an image to see it larger * *

Of Berserkers, Swords and Vampires – A Saberhagen Retrospective by Fred Saberhagen [Baen Books, 2009 trade paper, new] – science fiction / fantasy short story collection – a collection of Saberhagen’s shorts stories, some of his earliest, from 1960 and 1961 through 2003, and including some introductions he wrote to some previous collections. I’ve liked Fred Saberhagenn’s work ever since I read Empire of the East and that was a long time ago. That novel is the basis for some of the Swords books, and it wasn’t long after that I read a Berserker short story somewhere and liked it, and it’s premise, as well. So when I saw this, it seemed a natural, and it’s one of the few books I’m leaving unpacked so I’ll have something to read during the happy moving times.

Dust Devils by James Reasoner [Point Blank Press, 2007 trade paper, new] – crime fiction – I’d been wanting to read this one and Texas Wind for a while and here Point Blank has put it in a nice trade edition. Wish granted!

Moonfleet by J. Meade Falkner [Dodo Press, 2010 trade paper, new] – adventure fiction – the author is best known for this 1898 swashbuckler, which I’d never heard of let alone read, until I came across this reprint by Dodo Press, a small press which specializes in publication of rare and out-of-print books. Though the writing is somewhat dated, and a little awkward to a Twenty-First Century readers ear, I have great hopes for this one.

Texas Wind by James Reasoner 1980, [Point Blank Press, 2004 trade paper, new] – crime fiction – I’d been wanting to read this one, and Dust Devils, for a while and here Point Blank has put it in a nice trade edition. I’ll read this one, then Dust Devils, not that they need to be read in any particular order, it’s just how I am.

Wintertide by Michael J. Sullivan [Ridan Publishing, October 2010 trade paper, new] – epic fantasy – this is he 5th in Sullivan’s six-volume fantasy series, The Riyria Revelations. I have the others and am waiting for the last book, Percepliquis, to be published next April to begin reading. These have received very strong reviews, by reviewers I trust, which is what got me buying the books in the first place. Ridan Publishing is doing a very, very nice job with these books, covers, font, physical book etc. and they have a strong author line-up including a new personal favorite SF author Nathan Lowell, author of Quarter Share and the soon to be published Half Share (I’ll have a special post on that tomorrow!).

About Richard Robinson

Enjoying life in Portland, OR
This entry was posted in Adventure, fantasy, mystery, reading, science fiction and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to New Arrivals October 4 – 10

  1. Loved both the Reasoners. I’ve read quite a lot of Saberhagen, though it has been a few years. This one looks like something I might have to check out.

    The others I’m not familiar with.

  2. Richard says:

    I’m really looking forward to the Reasoners. I suppose just about everyone who reads this blog has already read them, but better plate than never…

  3. Redhead says:

    I read a lot of Saberhagen years and years and years ago. I remember just loving the Berserker books. Good stuff!

  4. I’ll have to pick up a copy of that Saberhagen collection. I’ve enjoyed the Berserker books over the years. I have Saberhagen’s “Sword” books, but haven’t read them yet. You’ll really like those James Reasoner books!

  5. Richard says:

    I expect to, George. I have all the Sword books too, have read all but the last 2 or three, and liked them all, as I remember, it has been a while… I thought you might be intrigued by Moonfleet.

  6. Richard says:

    Red – thanks for dropping in. I read a lot of Saberhagen too, but it’s been a while. I’ve no doubt this collection will send me to the shelves to read more.

  7. Patti Abbott says:

    DUST DEVILS is just a great book. I am going to read TEXAS WIND on Kindle if my husband ever gives it up.

  8. Jeff Meyerson says:

    I had (operative word) a signed copy of the original edition of TEXAS WIND but loaned it to someone (I won’t name him) who never returned it.

    I hate that.

    I’ve liked the few Saberhagen books I’ve read (Holmes and Dracula) so might pick this one up.

    The only book I’ve picked up was the one I mentioned last time, Charlie Muffin’s Uncle Sam by Brian Freemantle.

  9. Richard says:

    Expect a huge slowdown, perhaps to nothing, after this, unless Bouchercon knocks a hole in my plans.

  10. Evan Lewis says:

    Watch out for Dust Devils. It’ll sneak up and grab you by the throat.

  11. I read MOONFLEET about a year ago, Rick, for FFB. Good, but not great. Have fun at BOUCHERCON! Things will kick off tomorrow.

  12. Jon says:

    I’ve read a ton of Saberhagen. My all time favorite is The Dracula Tapes.

Leave a Reply

