must read article on internet

The October Scientific American has a short article outlining the problem and potential cure for the U.S. lousy internet service. A must-read. It’s HERE.

About Richard Robinson

Enjoying life in Portland, OR
This entry was posted in Personal Opinion. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to must read article on internet

  1. Carl V. says:

    Why doesn’t this surprise me? Seems that mediocre is the new ceiling that the U.S. is always aiming for. Which is frustrating considering how much internet service costs per month, if you want a relatively fast connection, that is. It really is outrageous. And the service aspect of each company is just horrible. I’ve been waiting for a month for the cable company to come bury a line they laid to give my neighbor internet and cable access. The day will come when I just mow over the damn thing instead of moving it every time. I have no love for Comcast after all. Great article. I hope one day soon to see a counter article proclaiming progress being made. But I’m not setting my hopes too high.

  2. Bill Crider says:

    Why am I not surprised?

  3. Jeff Meyerson says:

    I for one am shocked, shocked.

  4. Richard says:

    Yeah, well, U.S. companies have been training us for some time to have few if any expectations regarding quality or service.

  5. Jeff Meyerson says:

    And they have certainly succeeded, Rick. You call up for service and the recording tells you that you can handle it online, but if you try that you will undoubtedly need to talk to a live person. Good luck getting one.

    Incidentally, if you’re tired of staying on hold for an hour try this: gethuman.com. It’ll give you shortcuts (often just press ‘0’ every time the recording asks for information) to get a live person faster.

    There are a lot of jokes about outsourcing to India, but lately Jackie has had a lot of trouble with customer service people (sic) with such thick Spanish accents she has a hard time understanding what they are saying.

    Yesterday she called Social Security and the recording told her that her wait was one minute. Pretty good, right? But then, “while you’re waiting please answer these few (dozen) questions.” I could see her getting more and more agitated as the questions went on.

    “NO!”

  6. Richard says:

    I’ve been doing that press 0 thing for a while, but you have to be careful, sometimes 0 is the key for something else. My other technique is just to mumble. After about the 3rd or 4th “I’m sorry, I didn’t quite get that” it just sends me to a person. I frequently pray that the person who invented the phone tree will roast in Hell for eternity. As far as those survey’s are concerned, I just ignore them. Only once has the system dumped me for not answering. Or I just press # every time.

  7. Jeff Meyerson says:

    gethuman.com

    It tells you what works for different companies. Sometimes it’s ‘0’ or ’00’ and sometimes it’s something else.

Leave a Reply

