Meme: Book Title Communication

I saw this on Walker of Worlds blog, and thought I’d give it a try.

Complete the following sentences with book titles that you have read this year. Put the author of the book in parenthesis. Here’s mine:

I am: The Man Who Counts (Poul Anderson)
I will never be: Space Cadet (Robert Heinlein)
I fear: Death at Hallows End (Leo Bruce)
My best friend is: The Bishop’s Heir (Katherine Kurtz)
What’s the weather like? A Thousand Degrees Below Zero (Murray Leinster)
Best Advice: Call Me Joe (Poul Anderson)
I’ve never been to: The Wall Around the World  (Theodore Cogswell)
Favorite form of transport: Tunnel in the Sky (Robert Heinlein)
I’ll never fit in at: Hospital Station (James White)
How I’d like to die: Into the Vortex (John Malcolm)
You and your friends are: South of Sulu (George F. Worts)
Thought of the day: I Was Told There’d be Cake (Sloane Crosley)
Your soul’s present condition: Extremes (Kristine Kathrun Rusch)

I’d read just over 70 books so far, but a lot of the titles just didn’t fit into the format. How about you, want to take a shot at it?

About Richard Robinson

Enjoying life in Portland, OR
This entry was posted in Personal Opinion. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Meme: Book Title Communication

  1. Evan Lewis says:

    A very cool idea. Now if only I can remember books I read more than a month ago . . .

  2. Jeff Meyerson says:

    Love it;

    I am: Running From the Devil (Jamie Freveletti)
    I will never be: The Man in the High Castle (Philip K. Dick)
    I fear: The Lineup (O. Penzler, ed.)
    My best friend is: Flat Crazy (Ben Rehder)
    What’s the weather like? Blackout (Connie Willis)
    Best Advice: Shoot to Thrill (P. J. Tracy)
    I’ve never been to: A House on the Heights (Truman Capote)
    Favorite form of transport: The Wings of the Sphinx (Andrea Camilleri)
    I’ll never fit in at: When We Get to Surf City (Bob Greene)
    How I’d like to die: Fade Out (Rachel Caine)
    You and your friends are: Something from the Nightside (Simon R. Green)
    Thought of the day: Shakespeare Wrote for Money (Nick Hornby)
    Your soul’s present condition: I’ll Mature When I’m Dead (Dave Barry)

  3. Richard says:

    Great one, Jeff. I think this is a lot of fun. Hoping to see it on other blogs soon!

  4. Chris says:

    I did this back in August, with different questions. Here’s what I came up with:

    In high school I was: The Wheelman (Duane Swierczynski)
    People might be surprised I’m: Nobody’s Angel (Jack Clark)
    I will never be: Queenpin (Megan Abbott)
    My fantasy job is to: Hunt Beyond the Frozen Fire (Christa Faust)
    At the end of a long day I need: Food Rules (Michael Pollan)
    I hate it when I: Go to Helena Handbasket (Donna Moore)
    Wish I had: The Art of Manliness (Brett and Kate McKay)
    My family reunions are: A Bad Day for Pretty (Sophie Littlefield)
    At a party you’d find me with: Savages (Don Winslow)
    I’ve never been to: The Lost City of Z (David Grann)
    A happy day includes: The Open Road (Pico Iyer)
    Motto I live by: Be Ready When the Shit Goes Down (Forrest Griffin and Erich Krauss)
    On my bucket list: True Grit (Charles Portis)
    In my next life, I want to be: A Fistful of Legends (Various)

  5. Richard says:

    You’re supposed to put it on YOUR blog, Chris, but this is great too.

  6. Jeff Meyerson says:

    I like Chris’s list.

  7. Chris says:

    Jeff, thanks. I like yours too.

    Of all the memes I’ve seen, this is one of my favorite. Did either of you guys crack yourself up with the way any of your answers turned out? I know I got a kick out of doing mine, especially the “family reunion” answer.

  8. Richard says:

    Well, yeah, but the questions in mine and Jeff’s aren’t the same as yours…

  9. Pingback: Meme: Book Title Communication # 2 « Not The Baseball Pitcher

Leave a Reply

