New Arrivals, September 20-26, 2010

Just two books again this week, but what books! In both size and contents, these babys are imposing. Here we go, here they are, with – as always – the covers first and the descriptions below.

* * Click on an image to see it larger * *

The Black Lizard Big Book of Black Mask Stories edited and with a forward by Otto Penzler [Vintage Crime/Black Lizard 2010 oversized trade paperback, new] – mystery / crime fiction short story collection – This is 1116 pages, contents too much to list, of material from Black Mask magazine. A worthy companion to The Black Lizard Big Book of Pulps. Heaven only knows how long it will take me to read it.

Helliconia by Brian Aldiss [Gollancz, 2010 oversized trade paperback, new] – omnibus of three science fiction novels – This one is huge, 1302 pages, comprised of Helliconia Spring, Helliconia Summer and Helliconia Winter, with an introduction by Graham Sleight and preface by Brian Aldus. This is one of the Gollanz SF Masterworks series books, published in the U.K. (available at Amazon UK and other British sources). I don’t have any of the other volumes just now, but I found this on sale and snapped it up. I’ve read Aldiss, but not these, which are often considered his best work.

These books combine for more than four inches in spine width. The Black Mask collection looks to be quite sturdy, I’m not so sure about the Aldiss on which the binding is less flexible.

About Richard Robinson

Enjoying life in Portland, OR
This entry was posted in mystery, reading, science fiction and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to New Arrivals, September 20-26, 2010

  1. Evan Lewis says:

    Good taste, as always.

  2. Richard says:

    Thank you, Evan. I see you’ve posted some Black Mask covers in honor of the Penzler book.

  3. Jeff Meyerson says:

    Nice ones. I don’t think I got in any new books this week, though Jackie did. Actually, she got one mystery – a paperback of the first Louise Penny book (Still Life) was a gift from Beth.

  4. Joachim Boaz says:

    When I read Aldiss’ Helliconia a while back I loved it — well, that was 7 years ago…. A great (if somewhat slow) work!

  5. Richard says:

    Jeff – I liked that Louise Penny book, and the next as well.

    Joachim – Yes, big and slow, but considered a classic and worth reading, I hope. The books weren’t published in the order they appear in this omnibus (Spring, Summer, Winter). I believe Summer was first, but I’ll have to check on that.

  6. Great minds think alike, Rick. I have that BLACK MASK book on order. And, I’ve been planning to read Aldiss’ HELLICONIA for years. That looks like a very nice edition pictured on your blog! I have some Science Fiction Book Club editions.

  7. Richard says:

    George – The SF Masterwork series is a good, though expensive one. I wish it was hardcover, I worry that the binding may not hold up, as thick as it is.

  8. Joachim Boaz says:

    I think Spring was first — the publication date is earlier…. ’82. Summer was published in ’83. Regardless, they are interesting works.

  9. Richard says:

    Ah, thanks for that. I was just too lazy to look it up.

  10. Scott Cupp says:

    Rick – The Black Mask book came in to me on Saturday and it looks fascinating. Cannot wait to start. I read the Helliconia books as they were published and met Aldiss about that time. Interesting guy. I still have the British first of them even though they went in the big book sale of 2007. the local Half Price took them then put them out on their Clearance section for $3 each so I bought them back,

  11. Richard says:

    Scott – I’m glad you got them back. Half price rarely pays anything like the realistic value of a book, but for the buyer, I guess it’s a good deal.

  12. Joachim Boaz says:

    I’ve purchased hundreds and hundreds and hundreds of books from Half-Price when I lived in Austin, Tx…. I wish Half-Price would come to my state!

Leave a Reply

