Comcast feedback?

Looks like in Portland we’ll be using Comcast, it appears to be the only cable provider available in our zip code. Or we can go satellite, but I’m not sure if we’d get the local stations…  So, any feedback on Comcast?

About Richard Robinson

Enjoying life in Portland, OR
This entry was posted in Personal Opinion. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Comcast feedback?

  1. Evan Lewis says:

    Never had satellite, so I can’t compare. Comcast is tolerable, and service has been OK. They offer lots of package options, from basic up to HD with DVR. The feature I like best is On Demand, where you can watch a lot of movies and TV series free whenever you want. I sometimes want to record two or three things at once, and I’m not sure satellite can do that.

  2. We have Time-Warner here, Rick. I’m sure Comcast offers similar packages. You’ll want the HD option.

  3. Richard says:

    We have Cox right now, and they are great. They have the highest customer service rating in California, so we’re spoiled, and the rates are low (about $90/mo for cable, interent, phone). All the packages we could want and a ton of them we don’t want. We also don’t need all the channels in languages we don’t read, speak or care about, but there’s no choice on that (it’s more than 1/4 of the channels in the basic package here). We don’t have a flat screen, let alone an HD set, so there’s rally no need for HD package now. We could have on Demand, and a DVR and all that fancy stuff, but I doubt we’d use it. I’ve resisted set-top boxes to this point, I didn’t want yet another remote, especially one that supersedes my TV remote and Universal remote, which it does. I probably won’t have a choice at the new place. Remember, we watch very little television! But I need the major networks, HGTV, ESPN (1,2,3) TLC, TBS, TCM, and so on.

    I think I’ve heard bad things about Comcast service, but maybe not. I’m not a fan of mega-giant companies that continually swallow up reliable local ones, sheesh, Comcast is about to swallow NBC and are kicking all the top people out. But with cable it’s their way or sky way.

  4. Richard says:

    Oh, and Evan, the On Demand here is only movies, and it’s pay as you watch, with movies about $4 per viewing.

  5. william says:

    We had Comcast when we lived in Knoxville. It was tolerable, but no better than that. We had Charter Cable here in Maryville. Liked the Internet aspect, but cable TV was poor so we switched to Direct TV. A bit more expensive, but not too much and the selections and picture quality both much better. We do have HD TVs and appreciate the difference in viewing quality, especially for sports and nature programs as well as movies. We use Netflix DVD for movies and the local PL.

  6. Jeff Meyerson says:

    LIke George we have Time Warner, with HD and On Demand.

  7. Bill Crider says:

    We have Comcast. They’ve been very responsive to me. I’ve aired my complaints on my blog, and they’ve gotten in touch quickly. Usually things get resolved. That’s for Internet. The cable TV service seems just fine.

  8. Cap'n Bob says:

    I dumped them years ago and have never regretted it.

  9. Evan Lewis says:

    Our On Demand has pay-per-view new release movies too, but I’ve never paid. The free On Demand has almost all series from NBC and USA Network, some from SyFy and a bunch from misc networks. Haven’t seen many ABC, CBS or Fox shows there.

  10. Jeff Meyerson says:

    We have the free TV shows (as Evan said, but CBS does not seem to participate), some movies, and pay movies at (mostly) $1.99 or $4.99 depending on channel and movie. We have HBO and Showtime and both have On Demand features as well.

  11. Carl V. says:

    Are we talking for internet AND television? I used to have Comcast. Never had any real problems with the television service. The cable internet connection was an entirely different story. The speed was amazing, but the service was terrible. I went through a year or more where I lost my internet for a week or more at least once every couple of months. It was obvious to me that there was some issue with the lines outside my house but they never made any effort to find anything. By the time they would get a service provider out, usually 7-10 days later, the internet would be working again. I had many a battle with them on the phone and they were extremely callous and unresponsive. One of my happiest memories is the day I decided enough was enough and went to the local office to hand them my modem and say goodbye. I realize my experience may be isolated, but it was what it was. Not good.

  12. Richard says:

    It would be internet, TV and phone, if we could get a quality bundle. That’s what we have now and are very happy with it.

  13. Todd Mason says:

    Comcast is a very mixed bag. I’m glad they were surfing the net to respond to Bill’s problems, but they are often unresponsive…but they are accessible for the easier stuff 24/7 (if you want to make a payment, etc.). They are not cheap, but will give you some play if you want to dicker with them…their sales reps have a schedule of discounts they can offer on challenge (Comcast desperately wants to crush such direct competitors as, in the Philly area, Verizon and definitely the satellite services, which they’ve had continuing fistfights with).

Leave a Reply

