New Arrivals, September 13-19, 2010

Last week 4 books, this week just 2. Yes, loyal readers you should be alarmed. But there’s a reason. Everything that comes into the house now has to be boxed and go into a moving van in about seven weeks. That means I have to pack it, lift it, since I insist on packing all my own books and CDs. The rest of the house? Sure, the movers can mess with that, but not my books. So, just the two this week, both were on back order and just arrived. There are just a very few more things in the pipeline. Then there will be a break while we get moved, make the drive, get set up at the other end and all that joy.

Here are the newcomers, with – as always – the covers first and the descriptions below.

*  *   Click on an image to see it larger   *  *

City if Baal by Charles Beadle [Off-Trail Publications, 2007 trade paper, new] – pulp reprint – subtitled “Adventures in Colonial Africa” – 7 short stories and novelettes by Beadle, who served in the British military in the colonies of southern Africa, saw duty in the Boer War, then travelled through the continent working as an oddjobber, trader and explorer. Also a nice introduction and historical information on the period.

The Golden Anaconda and Other Strange Tales of Adventure by Elmer Brown Mason [Off-Trail Publications, 2009 trade paper, new] – pulp reprint – 5 short stories featuring Wandering Smith (from The Popular Magazine) and 5 with various heros in various locations. A U.S. Government entomologist, Mason traveled the world in search of adventure.

About Richard Robinson

Enjoying life in Portland, OR
This entry was posted in Adventure, reading and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to New Arrivals, September 13-19, 2010

  1. Carl V. says:

    Your book arrivals *need* to dry up to a trickle, otherwise just one more addition might drive you, or the missus, to tears! Ah, the joys of packing to move. Looks like you have a couple of fun new books, however.

    I was thrilled to open Saturday’s mail to see that Tor send me an copy of Cherie Priest’s novel Dreadnought, the second book set in the alt history setting she introduced in Boneshaker. It isn’t scheduled to be released for another week, so I’ll be diving into it this week to try to get a review up soon.

  2. I’ve noticed the City of Baal book before on the Off-Trail Publications site – it looks fascinating. John does a great job with these reprints.

  3. Evan Lewis says:

    I’m not familiar with either author – or with Off-Trail – but these both look great.

  4. Jeff Meyerson says:

    Ah yes, new arrivals. I only got in a couple of things too, both from the PaperbackSwap people:

    Barry Petersen, Jan’s Story: Love Lost to the Long Goodbye of Alzheimer’s. This was a very touching and sad story. Petersen is a CBS reporter and first told this story on CBS Sunday Morning.

    Henry Kuttner, The Last Mimzy. Several of you were touting his stories so I picked this up, as well as one George had recommended (but can’t remember if it came in this week or not), Return to Otherness.

  5. Richard says:

    Carl – you are so right about stopping the flow of incoming books. There is going to be a serious gap at the Portland end while I figure out the book shelf situation and get them up. In the meantime, I’ll have 1 small box to work (read, review, browse, etc.) from. These two books are already in it.

    LaurieThe City of Baal looks interesting for both the stories and the author. Heaven knows when I’ll find time to read it, but when I do it should be enjoyable.

  6. Richard says:

    Evan – Off Trail has an interesting lineup of books. You should take a peek (here). One thing: Adventure House is sometimes pretty slow in delivering the goods, I ordered 4 books and it took 5 weeks to get the first two, several more months to get the other two (these). Still, for some things they seem to be the only game in town.

    Jeff – The Peterson seems too sad for me at this point, but if I get closer to the disease, myself or someone else, I will read it. Hope you enjoy the Kuttner. Maybe you’ll do a guest review here on Broken Bullhorn?

  7. Start building your future Order List now, Rick. Moving always costs more than you think it will. And, when you move in to your new home, you’ll find additional expenses.

  8. Richard says:

    It’s already costing more than we thought, just from the movers’ estimates and the items revealed in the home inspection, though we’re asking the seller to do some and give us an allowance back on same.

    I expect to be poor for a while.

  9. Jeff Meyerson says:

    I haven’t started it yet. I did read the Petersen. Just finished book four in White’s Sector General series.

  10. Keep careful records of your moving expenses, Rick. Many of them will be tax-deductible, but you have to document those expenses.

  11. Richard says:

    Smart suggestion. We document, save, organize and track everything, George, it’s an old habit of mine. It’s one of the reasons we have a couple of 4-drawer file cabinets full of records, and I’ve started scanning a lot of them into PDF files.

  12. In addition to finding new doctors, dentist, optometrist, ophthalmologist, etc. when you get to Portland, you should find a very good tax accountant. They are worth their weight in gold.

  13. Richard says:

    The last few years we have use Turbo Tax, and been happy with the results, but with the move, we may have to get a tax accountant, as you suggest. The last time we had one, he charged us $500 and used Turbo Tax himself, so that’s when we made the switch.

    Yes, finding all those new people is a hassle, and we can no longer have our HMO, so the cost is going… UP.

  14. Patti Abbott says:

    It is amazing to me that you buy books I have never heard about. Where do you get ideas for your purchases?

  15. Richard says:

    Patti – the answer is from a lot of places. First, reviews in blogs and in the mystery apa George Kelley, Jeff Meterson, Bill Crider, Cap’n Bob and many others are in. Then too I read specific book review websites regularly in the genres I enjoy, and I also visit the websites of many small publishers to see the new offerings. That was the case for the books in this post.

  16. Todd Mason says:

    I picked up a nice little stack of anthologies (including the nice B&N instant remainder editions of Datlow and Brite’s originally two-volume sets), Jayne Anne Phillips’s most recent novel, and several fiction magazines, including the latest two issues of BLACK STATIC (which B&N’s buyer has decided is a film magazine, or at least should live with the horror-film magazines), just in time for my eyes to go (also paid off my car). I now know it’s a combo of dry-eye and baby cataracts, and wetting the eyes with drops is helping, but at this hour, after a typical long day’s work at the computer, not enough). Surgery soonish. Having just paid off my car, I too have invested a chunk…hm, time to invest in a chauffer…

  17. Todd Mason says:

    Oops. As often the case with redundancies in my comments, a colleague asked a question toward the end there, distracting me.

  18. Todd Mason says:

    And don’t strain your back (or backs) packing, etc. That is a handsome quilt. (I must admit, the typeface on this blog is easier than the ones I deal with in my paperwork.)

  19. Richard says:

    It’s all good, Todd. Yes, the font and size are better with this layout than with my previous one, seems to be a bit larger than most I see. Congrats on paying off the car!

Leave a Reply

