Taking the Leap!

We bought a house! As many of you who follow this blog have already guessed, we have been seriously looking at houses in the Portland-Lake Oswego area. We found one – in far SW Portland, right on the Portland-Lake Oswego line – that we really like, and made an offer. After going through the counter offer, counter-counter offer and so forth, it has happened. The visuals (the furniture you see is the current owners, not ours):

We really like the house. It meets our needs in just about every way. It’s newish, just about 11 years old and had a kitchen-and-floor upgrade remodel 18 months ago. It has the master on the main. nice hardwood floors, 4 bedrooms (2 on the main, 2 on the lower floor), beautiful kitchen with island, granite, stainless, lots of light. In fact the whole house has lots of light, important in a climate with rain and grey weather some of the time. It also has a home office from which Wife will be working remote, which was critical to making the move. There’s a full, finished, daylight walk-out basement, with lots of light, a fireplace and an area with a sink and kitchen-type cabinetry. There is a great view, looking south over the Lake Oswego valley.

Now we’re in the process of taking care of all the home buying paperwork, getting all the inspections, and shifting resources and setting up the move. It’s a daunting task and it’s why there’s no FFB this week. My head is spinning from all the detail stuff and reading and writing reviews has suddenly become a lower priority.

We haven’t even begun the process of finding new… well just about everything at the other end: doctors, bank, vet, insurance agent(s), utilities, stores, library, basically everything you visit every week and take for granted. You know where those things are, we don’t – yet. Still ahead of us is the actual move. Packing thousands of books, CDs and all our other household items and treasures. We will have movers do some of that, but I insist on packing the books and CDs myself, and we will pack a good deal of other stuff to save a little money on what will be an expensive 1000-mile move.

We’re pleased as punch. Now if we can just get through the maze of paperwork, details and packing and sending the movers off, then driving there ourselves, we’ll be fine. As it stands now, we should be in, surrounded by boxes, about the middle of November.

Of course at the other end there is unpacking and putting away. In our case that will mean adding a lot of bookshelves. A lot. It’s my goal to have every book we own on shelves and the spine visible. No boxes in the garage, no double shelving. I figure that we need, allowing for room for some future expansion, about 400 linear feet of bookshelf. (!) It will take time and cash to do, and will have to be done in phases. Almost all the shelves in the current house are built in, so all we’ll have at the beginning are three smallish bookcases.

You can be sure I’ll be posting more on the move. At this point, serenity wishes gratefully accepted. 🙂

About Richard Robinson

Enjoying life in Portland, OR
This entry was posted in Adventure, Personal Opinion and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Taking the Leap!

  1. All good thoughts to you guys. You’ve got a hell of a job ahead of you. I would volunteer my services on the book and CD end, man I’d love to see what you’ve got, but unfortunately I’m on the wrong coast.

  2. Patti Abbott says:

    Looks like a wonderful house, Rick. Best wishes for a happy life there.

  3. Carl V. says:

    And the adventure begins!

    Wow, wonderful looking place. Fantastic view, you certainly made the right choice based on that view alone. I’m so very happy for you and your wife. Yes, there is now all the hard work to do of packing, etc., but I truly consider all that part of the adventure. You’ll be discovering new haunts, changing the patterns of your lives, etc. How fun.

    I look forward to future posts detailing your move, settling in, getting new bookshelves up and restocked, etc.

    Congrats to you both!

  4. Congratulations! I applaud your goal of having all of your books on shelves. I would love to free my books from boxes, but I’ve run out of room on the shelving downstairs. I really need to weed my collection and free up some space. I really, really HATE to move. By the end of your adventures in moving, you’ll feel the same way. Trust me.

  5. Jeff Meyerson says:

    Mazel Tov! What a great looking place and that view is amazing.

    Moving is hellish but the end result will be worth it I’m sure.

  6. Richard says:

    Thanks, everyone. The word “adventure” keeps coming up, and it sure is better than “pain in the neck”. Right now it feels like a stressed-out panic ride.

  7. Art Scott says:

    Congratulations Rick & Barbara! If I weren’t firmly rooted in northern California, I would very likely pick Portland as the ideal place to move to. For 20-odd years I spent an extended weekend there at Lancecon, and got to know the city pretty well — at least the important parts, sources of good books, records & food. My only complaint about Portland (and Oregon generally) is their dumb law about not pumping your own gas.

  8. Richard says:

    Art – thanks! I’m sure you know the city better than we do. Yes, that gas thing seems weird, though we ran into it in Arizona too, if I remember. Don’t try to ask them to wash the windshield, though! My understanding is that it’s supposed to support employment.

  9. Chris says:

    Congrats! You’ll love the NW.

    Seeing as how “adventure” really doesn’t start until everything goes wrong, here’s to hoping you have a dull move.

  10. I think New Jersey is another of those “can’t pump your own gas” states. Be glad you’re moving now, Rick. In five or six years, you’d resist moving with every fiber of your being. A certain stasis sets in when you’re in your sixties. I’ve seen it time and time again with older friends.

  11. Richard says:

    Chris – thanks, I have loved it for a long time from family vacations as a kid and many trips since, to Seattle, Missoula, Portland, and BC. I’m pretty sure I will be able to handle the rain (rain predicted there all next week). As for the adventure, I hope your wish for a dull move comes true! Right now I’m so buried in paperwork – and wife is doing the lion’s share – I’m dizzy. Lenders these days, punishing us for the sins of their own previous evil ways, I guess, now want to know everything, months of it, years of it,details that would seem to have nothing to do with buying a home. I expect them to ask the date on which my grandmother last canned vegetables. Sigh. I’m trying to go with the flow, but silly me, I expect some logic to the world.

    George – hey, I’m already there! I just applied for Social Security…

  12. Bill Crider says:

    Congrats, Rick. The place looks great!

  13. Jeff Meyerson says:

    GEorge is right – New Jersey is the other “can’t pump your own gas” state.

  14. Todd Mason says:

    And the gas is cheaper than in other nearby less Big Oil-owned states (John Boston quoted Ida Tarbell to me once…paraphrase from memory, The oil companies have done everything to the New Jersey legislature except refine it. )

    Serenity Now! And indeed, may all go smoothly in financial, physical, and resettling matters. Even I can see that it’s a pretty view within and without.

  15. Jeff Meyerson says:

    If it didn’t cost so much to get back and forth in tolls I’d definitely get my gas tank filled in New Jersey. New York’s taxes are probably the highest in the country so the disparity in startling.

  16. Richard says:

    Todd – thanks very much for the serenity wish, I’m hoping things will calm down a little now that some of the paperwork is finished up. Of course there is always more, and then more… I like that quote, it can probably be said of the gulf states as well, I’d guess.

    Jeff – the taxes, especially property, are pretty high in Oregon, but there is no sales tax. That would be pretty handy on big purchases, like the new washer and dryer we’ll be buying when we get there. I’m not sure of that’s a wash or not, but it’s what we’ll have.

  17. Cap'n Bob says:

    Welcome to the neighborhood, Rick and Barbara. I hope to see more of you now that you’re in the PNW. The house and view look sweet.

  18. Congratulations – and it looks like a gorgeous house. Well done!

  19. Evan Lewis says:

    Great news. Welcome to the ‘hood. With all that room for books, maybe you can rent some to me.

  20. Richard says:

    Laurie – thanks very much. It turns out there are some problems “under the skin”, but we’re working on an adjustment of the price to compensate… we’ll see how that goes.

    Evan – now there’s an idea. There just might be some space somewhere.

  21. L says:

    stopping by via Carl V’ s mention of you. congrats on the move and i sincerely hope you enjoy it. we lived in Beaverton and my husband worked in Portland (up to a year ago, was a sad move away).
    They have great Libraries and a wonderful Library System–in the Washington and Multnomah Counties anyway. And then there is Powells Bookstore: they bring in fantastic authors and have brilliant writing events/workshops. And then there is the music scene in Portland–and the food carts…Kells…
    have a wonderful time exploring your new home.
    —oh, and lovely house by the way.
    ~L

  22. Richard says:

    Thanks, L, if you read back a little ways you saw I mentioned Powell’s in the trip report of our recent visit. We can’t wait to get there, but it’ll be a couple more months. Then we have to sell our place here, and until that’s done we’ll be broke as a typewriter salesman.

Leave a Reply

