New Arrivals September 6-12

Just one this time, a lean week but then that’s okay, maybe I can read more than came in for once. I’m trying to cut back, so get used to this.

Death of An Old Girl by Elizabeth Lemarchand, [Walker 1985 paperback, used] – traditional mystery – recommended in Friday Forgotten Books a couple of weeks ago, found a cheap used (pretty beat up) copy.

About Richard Robinson

Enjoying life in Portland, OR
This entry was posted in mystery, reading and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to New Arrivals September 6-12

  1. Jeff Meyerson says:

    I really liked the Lemarchands I read – about half of her ouput I think. I really meant to go back and continue with the series.

    I only got one this week too: E. Howard Hunt’s House Dick from Hard Case Crime.

  2. Richard says:

    Nice. Has there been any more word on HCC finding a new publisher?

  3. I liked those old Walker paperbacks, Rick. Again, distribution seemed to be a problem in this area. I only found them in independent bookstores, never on a spinner rack or in a grocery or convenience store. And then they just disappeared.

  4. Richard says:

    Walker had the same problem with their hardcover mystery line, George. I bought the ones I have from a local mystery specialty bookstore.

  5. Jeff Meyerson says:

    When I was doing PEN Walker used to send me review copies of those mystery paperbacks but I doubt I have any of them left.

    Just got in one more book. We’d seen the story a few weeks ago on CBS Sunday Morning and even though it was incredibly sad and depressing it was also fascinating and we wanted to know more: Barry Petersen’s own story about his wife, Jan’s Story.

  6. I bought just about every Walker paperback I ran across, Rick. I think sometime in the late 1980s or early 1990s Walker discontinued their paperback line.

    I ordered JAN’S STORY from the Library, Jeff. I’m sure the book is very good, but nothing can top the video of Barry Petersen sitting across from his wife with Alzheimer’s as she tells him about her loving husband as though Barry Petersen is a stranger.

  7. Jeff Meyerson says:

    I know – that was just incredible. I could not imagine what he was going through at that moment. I also got the book because I thought he didn’t really make clear how his daughters have dealt with it.

  8. Evan Lewis says:

    Well, that’s one more book than I bought this week. I used to average better than one a day. Now it’s closer to one a month. Of course, I usually have at least 60 things checked out of the library.

  9. Patti Abbott says:

    I read all LeMarchand’s books back in the day. My only purchase this week, and at the library’s used books cart, was WHEN THE LIGHT GOES OUT, Larry McMurtry. However started tomorrow we have the annual AAUW book sale so I might do better.

  10. Jeff Meyerson says:

    That reminds me – McMurtry’s third “memoir” (HOLLYWOOD) is out. I hope it’s a little more substantive than the last one. I’ll get it from the library.

  11. Richard says:

    Patti – Thanks for adding to the “new arrivals”.

    Jeff – I’ve not read anything by McMurtry, though I guess Lonesome Dove would be the one if I decided to.

  12. Jeff Meyerson says:

    I’ve read a lot of McMurtry – probably not as much as Bill Crider – and yes, LONESOME DOVE is a classic. You also might like his non fiction Roads: Driving America’s Great Highways or Books: A Memoir.

  13. Richard says:

    Evan – 60 books at a time??? Here there is a five book limit. Not that we ever need or want to have more than one each out at a time, since I have to drop everything to read a library book. After all, there’s a deadline on it, and I will not keep a book overdue.

  14. Jeff Meyerson says:

    There’s no limit I know of here but I agree that 60 books from the library is nuts, it’s Jaysnovitchesque. I often have a dozen out at once. At the moment – let me count – I have exactly 12, although three are waiting to go back. I have the new books by Crider, Robinson (Peter) and Bruen among them.

Leave a Reply

