Portland – a day in the country, sort of

So far, we had flown to Portland (see post here), had ice cream and dinner, (see post here) spent the day in town and met with the Lewis persons for dinner down south in Bridgeport/Tigard. (see post here) An excellent start.

Now I find myself in the hotel in Bridgeport, while Wife heads south to Eugene on business for the day. That’s a 1.5 to 2 hour drive each way, but she is with three other people and is able to relax while someone else drives. I, however have more interesting things to do: I going on a tour of the Lake Oswego area neighborhoods, with a realtor.

boaters on Lake Oswego

Yes, it can now be told. We’re looking for a new home in the Portland/Lake Oswego area. It’s not hard wired, there are possibilities here in So Cal, but there is a lot to like about Oregon and that area specifically, and we can get more house for the money. So I’m going to spend the day viewing properties (doesn’t that sound all la-di-da?) while my wife slaves away. What a life.

The day was perfect: sunny, warm but not too hot, air crisp and clean, all as if they had dialed it up just for us. In all we went to three areas, looked at a dozen homes. I learned a lot about the area, saw the lake from all sides and was surprised at it’s size: much smaller than I expected. Really pretty, though.

Not surprisingly, saw some really nice places, also some I didn’t like much at all, but I got a great tour had a great lunch at a restaurant on the lake (name forgotten) and in all had a great day. After wife came home from her long business day, which went well, we went to Oswego Grill for a really nice dinner.

The next day we went together to look at a few repeats and a few new houses, did some shopping, had another nice meal and got ready to head back to Portland.

next: The MET, Powell’s and the Voodoo No-Do

About Richard Robinson

Enjoying life in Portland, OR
This entry was posted in Travel and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Portland – a day in the country, sort of

  1. The few times I’ve visited Oregon, I really liked it, Rick. California just seems too pricey, too crowded, too hot.

  2. Richard says:

    It is nice, George. There is a big adjustment for me, having lived in CA all my life, but I can make it. After all, what’s a little rain? bwaa ha! ha! ha! ha! ha! ha!

  3. Evan Lewis says:

    It does rain here now and then, but it’s vastly overstated. The rumor started as a propaganda campaign to keep Californians out. We only reveal the truth to the ones who would make good neighbors (like the Robinsons).

  4. Richard says:

    Very kind of you, Evan, thanks.

  5. And, we all know it never rains in southern California.

  6. Bill Crider says:

    Good luck if you decide on the move, Rick. As much as I’d like to get out of Hurricane Alley, I’m too old and set in my ways to uproot.

  7. Richard says:

    Bill, you just can’t face the thought of packing all those books, and other stuff. I can relate to that. We’ll see what happens but it would be nice to have a little more square footage.

  8. Cap'n Bob says:

    Don’t forget Kate Derie moved up here recently, too. Good thing about Oregon: no sales tax. Bad thing about Oregon: income tax. It rains a lot, that’s no myth, but when you’re retired it hardly matters. You might also check out the cost of registering your cars up here. Washington will nickel and dime you to death. I don’t know if Oregon is as bad. It would be great to have you in the area, though.

  9. Richard says:

    Yep, we checked that, it seems in OR vehicle registration is about $60 per vehicle per 2 years. That’s as opposed to about $250 per year here. So $1000 for 2 car/2 yr as opposed to $60. That seems like a bargain.

    We hadn’t forgotten Kate is in Portland, but she hasn’t been answering my emails…

  10. I’d hate to lose you Rick, but can’t blame you at all. Personally I can’t see myself retiring in So Cal – I simply can’t afford it. Portland has always been a place I’ve wanted to visit – if you end up there, then I’d have one more reason to go.

Leave a Reply

