My New Arrivals, August 30 – September 5

Just four items this time, and there will probably be less next week. As Summer wraps up, I’m hoping to get more reading time. So here are the newcomers, with – as always – the covers first and the descriptions below.

*  *   Click on an image to see it larger   *  *

Italian Violin Sonatas – Performer: Fabio Biondi, Orchestra/Ensemble: Europa Galante [July 2003, Virgin Classics Veritas Catalog #: 45588, new – 1 disc, stereo, 1 Hours 10 Mins. – this CD is reissued by ArkivMusic and includes liner notes.] – classical music, Baroque period, violin – Composers: Francesco Geminiani, Francesco Maria Veracini, Pietro Antonio Locatelli, Giuseppe Tartini, Michele Mascitti – this Baroque violin program will be of interest to anyone with an interest in music of this genre and period. In addition to the rarely-heard Locatelli sonata, Biondi and Galante offer very welcome CD premieres by equally renowned contemporaries Geminiani, Veracini, Tartini, and to a lesser extent (though no less accomplished), Mascitti – I’ve listened to it 20 or so times so far and it’s very nice indeed.

The January Dancer by Michael Flynn [Tor 2008 hardcover, new] – science fiction novel – The first of two books set in a interstellar universe, this one about an alien artifact much desired by a great many people.

Up Jim River by Michael Flynn [Tor 2010 hardcover, new] – science fiction novel – The second book set Flynn’s universe, again with a group of people seeking a valuable object and answers to some very important questions.

Winter Song by Colin Harvey [Angry Robot, September 2010 mass market paperback, new] – science fiction novel – I read a pre-publication review of this hard SF novel coming from newish Brit SF publisher Angry Robot and decided it was one to order. Harvey’s next book, Damage Time, is an SF-Mystery. I have it on pre-order.

About Richard Robinson

Enjoying life in Portland, OR
This entry was posted in Classical Music, Personal Opinion, science fiction. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to My New Arrivals, August 30 – September 5

  1. Todd Mason says:

    I’ll probably do one of these this week…heavy on the fiction magazines…I feel a little less bad about not recognizing Harvey’s name after reading your blurb. Gotta love Archiv, much as we do Koch…I haven’t looked a Vox catalog in years…assuming they’re still with us…shame on me.

  2. Richard says:

    Todd – that’s great! I’m looking forward to your new arrivals post!

  3. Evan Lewis says:

    Hm. Those Flynn books look pretty good, but are they really a two-book series or the beginning of those series that drags on forever? It’s much safer to read dead guys.

  4. Jeff Meyerson says:

    I don’t think I got anything new in this week, though Jackie got in a couple of her romantic suspense/paranormal books.

  5. Richard says:

    Evan – the books are stand-alone novels but the second takes place in the same universe (not same planet, even) as the first one. Every review I’ve read of these – and Flynn’s books in general – have been really positive. It’s been a while since I bought two hardcover novels by an author I’ve only read short stories (The Forest of Time and Other Stories, which it occurs to me I haven’t reviewed here yet), but these sounded that good. Now the trick is getting to them.

  6. Richard says:

    Jeff – we can’t get new stuff every week, unless we have George’s resources.

  7. I see that ANGRY ROBOT credit on movies, but are they doing books now?

  8. Richard says:

    George – follow the link in the post to their website.

  9. The two Flynns look good. I have read him in the past. The harvey, though I’m not familiar with his work, looks good as well.

  10. Richard says:

    As I said, the Colin Harvey book got an interesting review, so I decided to try it. Angry Robot was a little slow getting it out, it was shown as available, then not, then available again. I got it from Am’zon (free shipping).

  11. Carl V. says:

    A small but significant haul. I’ve always liked the covers for Flynn’s books, even when I just saw images of them before they hit bookstore shelves. Haven’t really read any reviews of his work, that I can recall, and am not sure how it is being received. Will be interested in your thoughts on that first book when you get to it.

Leave a Reply

