Good News for Detective Chen fans!

Liz William’s Detective Chen Novels find New home

I make a daily stop at The Fantasy Book Critic website, and saw this report yesterday.

Snake Agent cover by Jon Foster, previous artist on the series.

There is good news for all Inspector Chen fans. Series author Liz Williams had said that she was trying to procure a new home for her wonderful books after the Night Shade debacle. She had alsosaid that there were some prospective options and now it is confirmed that Morrigan Books is set to publish the remaining two books in the series, namely “Iron Khan” & “Morningstar“.

It looks as if the previous books in the series will also be in print, and that all of the books will have new covers done by Stephanie Pui-Mun Law.

About Richard Robinson

Enjoying life in Portland, OR
This entry was posted in fantasy, mystery, Personal Opinion, Review and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Good News for Detective Chen fans!

  1. Carl V. says:

    Very good news for the books. I’m behind in the series but have enjoyed what I have read. I am disappointed, because Night Shade is one of my favorite publishers. More often than not they, like Tor, pair really good artists with really good authors. On that note, I’m not pleased with the artist choice for the book covers. I’ve checked out her work and it does not fit the series in my opinion at all. I reserve complete judgment until I see what she actually does, but I’m not enthused. Following the amazing Jon Foster would be a tough act for anyone, but I wish the choice was someone in that range.

  2. Jeff Meyerson says:

    Thanks for reminding me of this. I got the first book on your recommendation but shelved it and totally forgot I had it.

  3. Evan Lewis says:

    New to me, but that cover would surely make me take a close look.

  4. Carl V. says:

    And just for clarity, the image pictured above is from an earlier novel in the series with a cover by the amazingly talented Jon Foster, not the artist who will be doing the new series whenever it begins to be published/re-released.

  5. Richard says:

    Yes, I should have said pointed that out – have updated the caption now. I agree with you, Carl, I liked the covers Foster did very much.

  6. Liz Williams had plenty of problems with Night Shade Books so I’m not surprised she’s going with another publisher. Like Carl, I loved the Jon Foster covers.

  7. David says:

    Good news indeed.

Leave a Reply

