…and back again.

Portland made us welcome as always. We had a great trip, very busy, lots done and always more we wish we could have made time for. Trip thoughts and report over the next few days.

This is downtown, about a block from Voodoo Doughnut

Very briefly, we went to Powell’s, Voodoo Doughnuts, Stumptown Coffee. We rode the MAX. We went to Lake Oswego, West Linn, Bridgeport, Tigard, Tualitin. We ate: Little River Cafe, Flying Elephant Deli, Voodoo Doughnut, Kincade’s, Lake Oswego Grill, Barance, P.F. Chang’s, Veritable Quandry and other places I’ve already forgotten. It was all good: the breakfast BLT (with Hollandaise sauce), salt-crusted prime rib, French onion soup, NY strip, grilled chicken salad, waffle breakfast… Portland is an eater’s paradise.

We had sunny weather with a touch of rain, made some new friends, met with the esteemed Evan Lewis and his wife, he of  Davy Crockett’s Almanack of Mystery, Adventure and The Wild West fame for dinner (see his blog for a photo of the 4 of us). We stayed in 3 hotels in 5 days.

We had smooth flights and a good time but it’s good to be home. Yet it gets harder to leave Portland every time we visit. The few book / CD purchases I made will be in my next New Arrivals post [Monday Aug 30].

About Richard Robinson

Enjoying life in Portland, OR
This entry was posted in Travel. Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to …and back again.

  1. Glad to have you back, Rick.

  2. David says:

    Yep, welcome back.

  3. Richard says:

    Thanks, George and David. I’ll be catching up on your and other blogs over the next few days.

  4. Bill Crider says:

    Welcome back to the blogosphere.

  5. Jeff Meyerson says:

    Glad you had a good time (and food and books) and made it there and back in one piece. I even got in a bunch of books this week:

    Frank McAuliffe, Shoot the President, Are You Mad? I think you may have this one.

    Rachel Caine (Roxanne Longstreet Conrad), Kiss of Death. The latest in her Morganville Vampires series.

    Simon R. Green, Hex and the City. My library didn’t have book four in the Nightside series so I got it from the Exchange.

    Tod Goldberg, Burn Notice: The Fix. This was recommended on one blog or another. Another from the Exchange.

    Two Hard Case Crime books from the Exchange (the first I’ve read, the second not):
    Laurence Block, Killing Castro, originally published in 1961.

    Donald E. Westlake, Somebody Owes Me Money.

    And just today: David Nicholls, One Day.

    Jackie got a couple of books too.

  6. Patti Abbott says:

    One of the few cities left in the US I yearn to visit. Maybe soon.

  7. travelingmad says:

    “Keep Portland Weird.”
    I like it!

  8. Richard says:

    Yeah, great isn’t it. Portland has a great combination of irreverence and culture, environmental values and laid-back easy going style I love. Not that there isn’t culture on many levels, and creativity oozing from the old bricks. A wonderful city.

  9. Glad you guys had a great time and glad to have you back among us.

  10. Richard says:

    Thanks, Randy, it’s always good to be home, and back in touch with the blogosphere, though of course I could have been in touch the whole time had I so chosen. Truth is, I am on the computer every day when I’m home, but don’t really miss it (except mapping) when I’m not.

  11. Richard says:

    Jeff – that’s an impressive list, but do I see a trend towards pop-vampire-angst fiction? Except for the Hard Case books, of course.

  12. Looking forward to your posts on Portland. Like Patti, I’ve never visited and have always wanted to do so.

  13. Art Scott says:

    Stanich’s on Fremont. Best bar hamburger anywhere. Always my first stop driving in from the airport.

  14. Richard says:

    Thanks Art, I’ve put it in the Portland folder for our next trip.

  15. Jeff Meyerson says:

    Well, my brother certainly does his share to “Keep Portland Weird.”

  16. Richard says:

    From what I saw, he’s not alone in that, Jeff. The city has an interesting mix of casual and sophisticated, street performers and fine art, homeless and high-powered.

  17. Patti Abbott says:

    Hey, I have a tee shirt that says KEEP AUSTIN WEIRD. Maybe every city has one.

  18. Richard says:

    I’ll be darned, I thought that wall was an original thing. Takes a little something out of it, doesn’t it? Still I’d bet there is no Voodoo Doughnuts in Austin.

Leave a Reply

