away…

I’ll be away from the computer, probably until next Tuesday. I’m headed for Portland. I’m expecting to visit both Powell’s Books locations.  Of course, I won’t be buying anything… just “window shopping”.

I won’t be participating in Friday Forgotten Book this week, the favorite book during college edition. Probably just as well, the only thing I’ve been able to think of so far is Tom Wolfe’s The Kandy-Kolored Tangerine-Flake Streamline Baby though not counting anyhting that I read as an assignment. Why the Wolfe book? Darned if I know, it just occurred to me when I thought about the question. When I return I’ll catch up on blogs and follow up on any comments left here. Behave yourselves. Or not.

About Richard Robinson

Enjoying life in Portland, OR
This entry was posted in Personal Opinion. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to away…

  1. David says:

    Safe travels and looking forward to your return.

  2. Jon says:

    Window shopping at Powell’s requires great restraint. I’ve never been successful.

  3. Evan Lewis says:

    P.S. In planning your window shopping tour, don’t forget there are three Powell’s locations. The Beaverton store is the second largest, but the Hawthorne branch is still bigger than any non-Powell’s shop in town. And the Hawthorne store is only a few blocks up the street from Crossroads Music, a second-hand record and CD mall.

  4. Jeff Meyerson says:

    Have a great time.

  5. Chris says:

    Portland? I’m jealous, I love going there. Two words: Voodoo Donuts.

  6. Richard says:

    Thanks, everyone. I’m… out!

    Oh, I should have mentioned: we are having dinner with Mr. Lewis Thursday evening. Probably the highlight of the trip!!!

  7. We want pictures of Mr. Lewis’ fabled collection, Rick!

  8. Richard R. says:

    We’re meeting south of town and I won’t be able to get to his manse for the tour, at least not this trip.

  9. Carl V. says:

    Have a fantastic time! And you better do more than window shop!!!

  10. Patti Abbott says:

    have fun, be safe, return soon.

  11. Frank Denton says:

    Hope you have a great time in Portland. And give that Evan Lewis guy a swift kick in the pants for me. No, better just give him a big hug. That should embarrass him sufficiently. // By chance, I stumbled upon my copy of Dandelion Wine and put it into my TBR stack. Looking forward to reading it again. It’s been a long time.

  12. Richard says:

    Having a great time, weather has been nice but may get rain today. Frank, I gave him a half-hug, all he’d accept, but we had a great time.

    I went back to bookstore and got a couple of local interest things, Powell’s is today along with some other downtown stuff – we have been in Lake Oswego the last few days, heading downtown in a couple of hours.

    We sure do like this area, rain or shine.

    More when I get back to my own familiar keyboard… tomorrow night or Tuesday.

Leave a Reply

