New Arrivals – August 9 – 15

Okay, I admit I may have bought a couple of things I didn’t really need, but I had a bit of a scare when I read about Dorchester Publishing going to all e-book or POD and then other articles about the e-book “revolution” caught my attention and I sort of panicked a little over the whole thing. For a minute there, I felt like I needed to buy every ink-and-paper book in sight, before they just… disappeared. I didn’t buy everything in sight, but I did buy a few things. Here they are, with – as always – covers first, descriptions after.

* * Click an image to enlarge it * *

The Best of Kim Stanley Robinson – edited by Jonathan Strahan [Night Shade Books, 2010, hardcover, new] – science fiction short story collection – Robinson is well known for his science fiction, especially the Mars Trilogy. I have not read any of his short fiction and am looking forward to this.

The Bird of the River by Kage Baker [Tor, Tom Doherty Associates, July 2010 hardcover, library copy] – stand-alone fantasy novel – With her recent passing, this may well be her last book. I read her first two “Company” books, then didn’t continue that series and haven’t read any of the newer books, but this comes highly recommended and I’m reading it now.

Honey in His Mouth by Lester Dent [Hard Case Crime, October 2009 mass market paperback, new] – mystery novel – A “look-alike” mystery novel (our hero looks just like someone else…) by a writer long known for his storytelling, from pulps to adventure, science fiction and mystery. One of those books where “what’s the worst that could happen?” isn’t a question anyone should ask.

Murder is My Business by Brett Halliday [Hard Case Crime, August 2010 mass market paperback, new] – mystery novel featuring Mike Shayne – I already had a copy of this , the Dell Mapback edition, but wanted to buy this copy both for the McGinnis cover and to have the Hard Case mass market paperback edition. I’m getting worried these may become an endangered species.

To Kill A Mockingbird – music by Elmer Bernstein [Varese Sarabande, VSD-5754, 1997 Film Classics series, new] – soundtrack CD – there has been a lot of attention paid to this book and film with it’s anniversary, and this is an essential soundtrack, which I somehow didn’t already own.

About Richard Robinson

Enjoying life in Portland, OR
This entry was posted in fantasy, film music, mystery, reading, science fiction and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to New Arrivals – August 9 – 15

  1. The Dent and Halliday I have, but none of the others. I read Robinson’s Mars trilogy years back. This one looks like a possible buy.

  2. Jeff Meyerson says:

    Okay, I admit I may have bought a couple of things I didn’t really need

    Shame on you, Rick, there’s no such thing! If you wanted it, that should be good enough reason to get it. Say you suddenly “needed” one of these next year and it was no longer easily available?

    😉

    I got in a couple of things:

    Simon R. Green, Hex and the City. I’ve been reading his Nightside books from the library so far, but they didn’t have book four so I got it from the Paperback Exchange. It’s vitually a brand new copy too.

    Tod Goldberg, Burn Notice: The Fix, a novelization of the USA television series we’ve been watching since its inception. I think Bill mentioned this on his blog, but it might have been someone else. It was also from the exchange.

  3. I have those HARD CASE CRIME books and, of course, your brother’s BEST OF KIM STANLEY ROBINSON. All winners!

  4. Patti Abbott says:

    You did a good thing. Maybe these purchases will persuade another publisher to offer HCC a deal to keep it in print.

  5. Carl V. says:

    I’m thrilled with each purchase, there isn’t a one that I wouldn’t want to add to my own collection. I’ve been to my local BN twice this past week to pick up the Halliday book. They don’t have it in yet, but I will be snagging it in the near future. I’d eventually like to have all the books Strahan edits as well because I really like him as an editor.

  6. Carl’s right about Strahan. He’s the best SF anthology editor around.

  7. Richard says:

    It’s been a while since I thought about who edited a collection, I guess. This recommendation has me aware again, I’ll certainly look forward to the collection.

  8. Jeff Meyerson says:

    I picked up another Westlake I’d somehow missed (SOMEBODY OWES ME MONEY) and a Block I’ve already read (KILLING CASTRO) from Hard Case Crime.

  9. Carl V. says:

    I hadn’t paid to much attention either but I got on board and the beginning of Strahan’s Eclipse series and have enjoyed each one and kind of followed him since then. I’ve read parts of other collections he’s edited and have been really impressed.

Leave a Reply

