New Arrivals – August 2 – 8, 2010

After a blank week at the end of July a few things arrived this time. Mostly from good old Black Dog Books, and a new one from Planet Stories. Here they are, covers first, descriptions below.

* * Click an image to enlarge * *


Before They Were Giants by James L. Sutter, editor [Planet Stories, July 2010 trade paper, new] – science fiction short story collection – This is Planet Stories #28. This collects the first published stories of 15 science fiction authors, most of whom will be familiar (the names, not the stories) to most SF readers. I’ve enjoyed all of the Planet Stories books I’ve gotten, which, since I have a subscription, is most of them. Very nice line-up in this one.

The Empire of the Air by George Allan England [Black Dog Books, 2006 trade paper, new] – science fiction novel – This was originally published in four parts in late 1914. Strange flying globes, invaders from the fourth dimension, a small group of scientists who must try to save the world. First time in book form.

In A Righteous Cause by Talbot Mundy [Black Dog Books, 2009 trade paper, new] – adventure short stories – Ten stories and non-fiction pieces from Adventure magazine, 1913, plus a new historical introduction by Mundy biographer Peter Ellis. This is the third Mundy volume I’ve gotten recently though I’ve yet to read any of them. Soon…

Peter the Brazen by George F. Worts [Black Dog Books, 2007 trade paper, new] – adventure novel – I enjoyed South of Sulu, also by Worts and also published by Black Dog Books, that I had to get this novel. Peter Moore, the title character, is a radio operator on a ship in the south seas. Intrigue and adventure follow him, or he finds it without looking.

The Silver Menace by Murray Leinster [Black Dog Books, 2007 trade paper, new copy] – science fiction, 2 novelettes – “Murray Leinster” is the pseudonym of Will F. Jenkins, who wrote a lot of science fiction over the years. This volume contains the title novelette along with A Thousand Degrees Below Zero, (on cover) both published in 1919.

About Richard Robinson

Enjoying life in Portland, OR
This entry was posted in Adventure, reading, science fiction and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to New Arrivals – August 2 – 8, 2010

  1. I have THE SILVER MENACE. You’ll enjoy that one, Rick. I have BEFORE THEY WERE GIANTS on order. I’m still waiting for the new Matthew Hughes which you got TWO WEEKS AGO! It must be arriving here by Pony Express.

  2. Chris says:

    Those books all look great. I really need to subscribe to Planet Stories. I think I have 4 or 5 of them, and I love what they are doing.

  3. Richard says:

    George – …or perhaps dog cart. They always send me an email saying the book is shipping and when. Did you get that yet? Maybe you slipped through a crack.

    Chris – I’ve been enjoying the Planet Stories books, when I have time to get to them.

  4. Jeff Meyerson says:

    I’ve been waiting for your new list. Maybe you should copy Nick Hornby and list how many of the previous books you’ve actually read.

    I got in:

    Simon R. Green, GUARDS OF HAVEN (books 4-5-6 in The Adventures of Hawk & FIsher). I must admit I haven’t read any of these yet, but I have read the first two of his John Taylor/Nightside series.

  5. Richard says:

    Jeff – I’m reading The Sliver Menace and A Thousand Degrees Below Zero now, but the others will have to wait their turn. I’m at least 6 months behind on new stuff… it’s just piling up.

  6. randy Johnson says:

    The Leinster you’re reading looks good. Hell, they all look good and i only have one of them.

  7. Scott Cupp says:

    Rick – They all look like fun, but the England speaks to me.

  8. Jeff Meyerson says:

    Add the Perennial paperback of Dermot Morrah’s The Mummy Case Mystery, which just arrived via Paperback Swap.

    It was reviewed recently on Steve Lewis’s blog (originally in DAPA-EM).

  9. Todd Mason says:

    There might be more FIRST STORIES BY THESE GUYS books than we need, but at least a few of these folks haven’t been compiled thus before, afaik.

  10. Patti Abbott says:

    All my books this week came from the library, I’m afraid.

  11. Richard says:

    Todd – you’re right there have been enough Hey kids! First stories of Big Names! Get ‘Em Here! collections that we have needed, but this looks interesting and is part of my Planet Stories subscription.

  12. Richard says:

    Jeff – how old is that one?

  13. Jeff Meyerson says:

    Rick, MUMMY CASE was published by Harpers in 1933, but I got the Perennial Library reprint from 1988.

Leave a Reply

