New Arrivals: July 11 – 24

I wasn’t able to do a Monday Mailbox / New Arrivals post the last two weeks, so this is going to cover the entire period. Not that things pour in daily around here, but there’s always a trickle…

This time it’s a pretty mixed bag, as you can see below. There’s fantasy, science fiction, a double pulp reprint, a soundtrack CD, a mystery, a YA fantasy novel, a hard-boiled oldie and a jazz set from Mosiac Records. Read – and gaze – on, friends.

* *   click on a cover to see it full size!   * *

* *   click on a cover to see it full size!   * *

12 Worlds of Alan E. Nourse – no editor indicated [World Library Classics, trade paperback, new] – science fiction – collects twelve stories from 1957 to 1963.

The Complete Ahmad Jamal Trio Argo Sessions 1956-1962 – Ahmad Jamal Trio, [Mosaic Records, 9 CD set, new] – jazz – I’ve like Jamal’s playing since I first heard his “At the Pershing” album on vinyl sometime around 1960. This fine Mosaic collection of 9 CDs has it all. Marvelous!

Hell-Bent for Danger by Walt Grove [Gold Medal #134, paperback, used] – hard-boiled mystery recommend recently. A little hard to find. I’m looking ofrward to this, it will undoubtedly be a Friday Forgotten Book post before long.

Panic in Year Zero – music by Les Baxter (my review of 7/23/2010 here) [LaLa Land Records LLLCD 1111, CD, new copy] – original motion picture soundtrack recording – limited edition of a fine jazz soundtrack by a composer more known for his exotica music.

The Collected Short Works of Poul Anderson, Volume 3: The Saturn Game by Poul Anderson [NESFA Press, hardcover, new copy] – science fiction – this third collection continues the collection of the short works of one of the best science fiction writers the genre has seen, in high quality hard-bound editions. Poul Anderson is a personal favorite.

The Spider, Master of Men – #20: Reign of the Death Fidler & #55: City of Whispering Death by (house name) Grant Stockbridge [Girasol Collectables, pulp-sized paper cover, new copy] – pulp reprint – Girasol has been publishing these for a while now, this is the 16th double volume. The Spider is tough, the body count is high, willing suspension of disbelief is required, events are sometimes gruesome but it’s great fun.

Template by Matthew Hughes [Planet Stories Press, 2010, trade paperback, new] –  Science fiction – First time in print for this complex, involving novel by Hughes, a writer who has recieved much positive attention of late. A novel of the Archonate.

The Mistmantle Chronicles, Book One: Urchin of the Riding Stars by M. I. McAllister [Miramax/Hyperion Books, trade paper, used copy] – YA fantasy – I know nothing about this other than what the blurb says, but it caught my eye and I’m a sucker for  small furry animals with swords.

The Victoria Vanishes by Christopher Fowler [Bantam hardcover, used copy] – mystery – the sixth in the Peculiar Crimes Unit series, one I have enjoyed very much so far.

About Richard Robinson

Enjoying life in Portland, OR
This entry was posted in fantasy, film music, mystery, reading, science fiction and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to New Arrivals: July 11 – 24

  1. Jeff Meyerson says:

    Nice list. I’ve gotten in stuff from PaperbackSwap mostly:

    J.G. Ballard, Running Wild can’t remember where I read about this one, but Hubin has this novella classified as a ‘mystery’.

    Elizabeth Corley, Fatal Legacy I read about her in George Easter’s Deadly Pleasures so thought I’d try one.

    Keith Laumer, A Plague of Demons & Other Stories latest Baen collection I’ve picked up, though I haven’t started the first one yet.

    Hemingway, A Farewell to Arms – for some reason I’ve never read this one.

    Can’t remember if I got any others, but we did get in paperbacks for Jackie from Sharon Sala, Roxanne St. Claire, Maggie Shayne and Linda Lael Miller.

  2. Richard says:

    Jeff – As mentioned above, this is 3 weeks worth. That’s an interesting list you gave. Ballard isn’t one I remember liking, but it’s been 30 years or more since I read any.

  3. Jeff Meyerson says:

    I figured I’d give it a try as it’s short. The plot is very dark, however. I should finish it today.

  4. I have the Nourse and Template. The Panic In Year Year I’ll probably list since I posted on the movie and attendant book.

  5. And must not forget The Spider and the Anderson book.(sigh) The TBR pile approaches mountainous proportions.

  6. Patti Abbott says:

    Just one for me this week. TRUE GRIT by Charles Portis.

  7. You received your copy of TEMPLATE before me, Rick. I’m still waiting. I didn’t know about that Alan E. Nourse book. I’m ordering it NOW! I loved his novels when I was a kid. And, of course, I’m behind on the SPIDER. More ordering…

  8. Richard says:

    I read about the Nourse collection on Randy Johnson’s blog (I thinkj it was his) or perhaps it was James Reasoner’s…

  9. Richard says:

    George – I just received notification that the next Planet Stories book, Before They Were Giants: First Works from Science Fiction Greats, ships July 29.

  10. Todd Mason says:

    The Jamahl set caught my eye first, but there’s not a one I wouldn’t at least look at. I suspect the Nourse will be rewarding if intelligently selected at all…

  11. Richard says:

    The Jamal set is great, Todd, it’s been the only thing I’ve listened to since it came into the house.

Leave a Reply

