NESFA Gives Me A Nice Surprise

I just received The Collected Short Works of Poul Anderson Volume 3, The Saturn Game. NESFA (New England Science Fiction Association) is a fine publisher of science fiction collections and this is NESFA’s latest in the fine series of Poul Anderson short works.
I’ve really enjoyed the first volume and reviewed it here on the blog on April 21, 2010. Imagine my pleased surprise when, upon turning the book over, I found the back of the dust jacket contains a quote from that review, attributed to The Broken Bullhorn. I admit it’s not really a big thing, but I was – and still am – pretty tickled about it. So now, besides being a blogger, I’m a blurber!
Here are scans of front and back covers:
** Click to enlarge **

Make a note: my personal appearance fees may be going up.

About Richard Robinson

Enjoying life in Portland, OR
This entry was posted in Personal Opinion, reading and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to NESFA Gives Me A Nice Surprise

  1. Ok, you’re a wheel now. We bow to your superior nature(heh). All kidding aside, that is a nice surprise.

  2. Now watch for the avalanche of review copies filling your mailbox!

  3. Bill Crider says:

    You might get some great books to review, but getting to blurb a guy like Anderson has to be a kick.

  4. Jeff Meyerson says:

    Excellent!

    I knew books would be involved, but George is right – the books will start pouring in now.

    Granted, most of them will be books you don’t want… .

  5. Richard says:

    I’m not at all sure the books will pour in. Firstly, I’m not on any “please send me a review copy” lists. Second, I’ve never requested a review copy of anything from anyone (though Grey Wolf Press did send me something a week or so ago, a complete surprise). Lastly I won’t read e-manuscripts and my snail mail address isn’t listed on this blog.

    The few times I’ve been asked if I’d like to review, I’ve said “no, thanks”, mostly because I don’t want to feel beholdin’ – both to read the thing at all and then to write a review. What I’d write isn’t an issue, I have no problem saying I don’t like something if that’s the case.

    My policy is I read what I feel like reading, review what I want, when I want and say what I think in any review I do.

  6. Evan Lewis says:

    Dang! Right up there next to Starlog and the Washington Post. Pretty heady company.

  7. Jeff Meyerson says:

    Rick, trust me. I still occasionally get books in the mail for the magazine I quit doing more than 20 years ago!

  8. Richard says:

    Randy – Hey, wait a minute. What do you mean, “all kidding aside”? Are you saying I’m NOT a wheel now? Darn.

Leave a Reply

