Ouch!

There should have been a New in the Mailbox post today, but I can barely do this, let along do a “real” post. I’ve got a really sore shoulder.

Wife says she thinks it’s an “impingement” whatever that is, and I may need a cortisone shot. She had this same injury half a year ago, working out at the club, and that’s what her doctor did, after an x-ray. I can’t get to the doctor (we have different HMOs) until Thursday, but I’m hoping it’s just a matter of resting it. Meanwhile, moving the mouse or even typing is out of the question – it’s my right arm/shoulder. What did I do? Lifted a couple of heavy 2 cubic foot bags of garden/potting soil Saturday afternoon. I didn’t notice anything at the time, but in the middle of that night I woke really hurting. By morning I was in agony. This wasn’t go-to-emergency pain, just don’t use it ’cause it hurts like hell pain. Anyway. I’m pretty useless, and just when wife is off for a few days. Darn.

So no posts for a few days. I’ll fold the new stuff into next Monday’s post.

Not sure if I’ll suffer any internet withdrawal. I didn’t have the computer on at all yesterday and it was okay, but this morning… no, no, I’ll be fine.

About Richard

he's the guy who's blog you're reading
This entry was posted in Personal Opinion and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Ouch!

  1. Scott Cupp says:

    Ouch, indeed. Listen to some music or a book on tape/CD and relax.

  2. Jeff Meyerson says:

    Bummer.

    See, gardening can be hazardous to your health.

    Seriously, Jackie is also having shoulder problems (behind her left shoulder) but I think it’s from sleeping on three pillows.

    /end medical analysis

    Take it easy! Maybe a hot shower running the water on the spot in question will ease it a little.

  3. Rest and take it light, Richard.

  4. Richard says:

    Rick says “Thanks, everyone!” (typed by wife).

  5. This is just another example why I loathe yard work. You should just pay some needy gardeners to do your heavy lifting for you.

  6. Patti Abbott says:

    Take care, Rick.

  7. I’m finding that any injuries I get nowadays are due to gardening. Just the other day I had pain radiating up and down my arm – at first I thought maybe I was having a heart attack and then I remembered that I’d been shoveling and lifting the day before. Take care, Rick. We’ll be here when you get back.

  8. Cap'n Bob says:

    For the last 25 years or so I’ve had a bad right shoulder. I couldn’t make overhand motions, like throwing a baseball, but could underhand, like bowling. About a week ago it mysteriously went away, though it’s still a little tight. Cortizone helped but only temporarily, and the shots were costly. It’s considered surgery, fer Pete’s sake. I did some physical therapy, which helped a little, but didn’t cure it.

Leave a Reply

