Cathedral

sorry for the somewhat blurry scan - the book is larger than my glass.

by David Macaulay, 1973, this edition: Houghton Mifflin 1978 oversized trade paper

Though it doesn’t have the detail, this book is nicely done and gives a basic picture of the construction of a fictional cathedral. I plucked it off the shelf this morning as an addendum to my partial reading of Pillars of the Earth by Follett, reviewed here yesterday. Maybe I should have just read this instead…which I did this morning in about 20 minutes.

About Richard Robinson

Enjoying life in Portland, OR
This entry was posted in Personal Opinion, reading, Review. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Cathedral

  1. william says:

    All of his books are well worth reading by adults even though they are aimed at children. Historically sound, and the detailed illustrations are great.

  2. Richard says:

    I agree, I have CITY, UNDERGROUND, CASTLE, CATHEDRAL and PYRAMID. All very good.

  3. I’ve loved all of Macaulay’s books, Rick. His work has lasted while other books are totally forgotten.

  4. Jeff Meyerson says:

    I read his very amusing MOTEL OF THE MYSTERIES over 25 years ago. Check it out.

  5. This is off-topic , Rick, but have you checked out the OTHER Rick Robinson’s web site at: http://www.rickandlynne.com/rick/go/home

Leave a Reply

