off topic, sort of

Lack of Posts

I haven’t been posting very often lately, not because anything is wrong, just because I haven’t been reading much and haven’t had much to say or reviews to post. Sorry, but I’ll try to get back in the swing of things.

Reading

I have two or three books going right now, and odds are I’ll finish something soon that’s worthy of a post. I did finish one last night, if you can call it finishing, as I read about 45 pages and tossed it in the donate to library box. Maybe someone will like it, but I don’t think it’s even worthy of posting on BookSwap. It was a 1987 hardcover first edition, signed, that I bought in the heat of the post-modern mystery frenzy that gripped many of us during that time. I’ll not name the book, there’s no reason. But you won’t see a post on it, other than this. I’m chugging away in Pillars of the Earth, Follett’s 1000 page historical, but I’ll need to read other things during the trip through that one, so I have a mystery short story collection and a SF novel going too.

Computer talk

You may remember but I’m reminding you anyway, that I use a Mac.  On June 10 I upgraded to Safari 5.0. Safari is a pretty good browser, works seamlessly in the Mac OS and has a few features I use a lot. I have Firefox and Google Chrome loaded as well, but Safari is my usual choice. Just a few minutes ago I used my backup program, Time Machine, to revert to Safari 4.0.5, the previous version I had.

Why? Funny you should ask. The upgrade was supposed to be faster, safer and have cool new extra features. Personally I think Apple struck out on this one. It’s buggy, it’s much slower, it crashes, some of the features are more irritating than helpful. If I didn’t know better I’d think Microsoft designed it. I’m telling you this so anyone who might decide to try the latest version should BACK UP YOUR APPLICATIONS FOLDER so you can revert if you need to. Using Time Machine, it took me about 30 seconds to make the switch back, including tossing the new version off the hard drive.

About Richard Robinson

Enjoying life in Portland, OR
This entry was posted in Personal Opinion. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to off topic, sort of

  1. Carl V. says:

    Sage advice about backing things up. I always go into upgrades dreading just what is going to happen on the other end. Too bad you cannot count on consistent quality from anyone nowadays.

  2. Richard says:

    According to Mac World, about half the users are finding the new version better, faster and problem free while the rest experience what I did. It seems to work a little better with Snow Leopard than Leopard, but I haven’t wanted to make that upgrade as it costs $$ and what I have is working just fine.

  3. Todd Mason says:

    Even a bad book could make the library a few dimes in the booksale. (I like to find reasons to go the booksales.)

  4. Richard says:

    perhaps, if they sold it.

  5. Evan Lewis says:

    How gentlemanly of you not to name that book. I’d have probably posted a photo of it in the trash can.

  6. Jeff Meyerson says:

    What’s the book? Inquiring minds want to know!

    It’s buggy, it’s much slower, it crashes, some of the features are more irritating than helpful.

    So, all good then!

    I read the latest Lee Child (61 Hours and I’ve started Rick Riordan’s new Egyptian YA series, which is pretty good so far. As in his previous “Greek” series this one has obvious Harry Potter connections and is bound to sell a zillion copies.

  7. Richard says:

    Evan – Thanks. I did consider naming it, but I figured someone would see that and argue that it was a terrific book. I didn’t want to have to defend my opinion.

    Jeff – yep, all good by Microsoft standards. Selling a zillion copies is good, if someone is reading them.

  8. Patti Abbott says:

    I can find many reasons not to finish a book lately. I started one last night where the print was too light. Discarded one earlier because it was too heavy to prop up in bed. It’s finding a reason to plow on that’s hard sometimes.

  9. I have THE RED PYRAMID by Rick Riordan on my stack. I heard 61 HOURS is only half the story and that the sequel comes out in October. I usually wait until I have the WHOLE STORY before I read it. I’m doing the same thing with Connie Willis and her latest books.

  10. Richard says:

    Amen to that, Patti. The print in Pillars of the Earth is very small, and it’s still a 1000 page paperback. I can only read so much at a time, which is why I’m reading several things at once. I admit the other reason is I’m eager to get to the other books and didn’t want to wait…

  11. Richard says:

    Jeff – is THE LIGHTENING THEIF the beginning of that “Greek” series, or is it in the Egypt series? Do the series have the same characters?

  12. Richard says:

    George, I’m with you on having the whole series, as I said in that post a while back.

  13. Jeff Meyerson says:

    LIGHTNING THIEF is the first in the Greek series (Percy Jackson). RED PYRAMID is first in the Egyptian series.

    George, you’re right. Child leaves you with a cliffhanger at the end of 61 HOURS with the second book coming in October. There’s nothing you’ll forget by them if you read it now, but you might as well wait for the second half of the story.

    I read much of Scott Westerfeld’s LEVIATHAN before I realized it was only part 1, and I’m about to read Connie Willis’s BLACKOUT, even though part 2 won’t be out until Fall.

    Or maybe I’ll hold off on reading it like George.

    Rick, the characters in the two series are not connected, but in his hype for the spinoff of the Percy Jackson series (starting this Fall as well), Riordan said he “hasn’t ruled out” crossover later on. For now he’s going to be doing two books a year, one in each series.

  14. Richard says:

    So, like the Artemis Fowl series, it’s pretty much open-ended. Not sure if I want to start one like that. Pretty good, though, eh?

Leave a Reply

