Summer Reading… mine, yours

Summer Reading… whether we call it by that name or another, it does seem the warm months are a great time for reading. Some people think of the term “summer reading” as meaning trashy books, and what’s wrong with that? A little trash among the treasures never hurts, does it? Especially if the “trash” is of the guilty pleasure variety…

Carl over at Stainless Steel Droppings started this meme, drop by there to see what’s on his list and his thoughts on the subject. The link takes you right to his post on the topic.

Lists like these are amorphous, shifting and changing with the days, as one book is finished, another begun, something else popping into view, but that’s fine too. No one is going to hold any of us to our list. Here, in no particular order, is what I’m pretty sure I’ll be reading this summer:

  • The Pillars of the Earth by Ken Follett (novel about the building of a cathedral in 12th Century England)
  • Consequences by Kristine Kathryn Rusch (SF novel, 3rd in the Retrival Artist series)
  • Relic by Preston and Child (novel)
  • The Spider versus the Empire State by Norvell Page – 3 novel trilogy, Nazi-police state allegory
  • The Philosophical Corps by E.B. Cole (SF short stories)
  • The Curious Cases of Cyriack Skinner Grey by Arthur Porges (short story collection)
  • Locked Rooms by Laurie King (mystery novel)
  • Convict and other Stories by James Lee Burke (short story collection)
  • Retribution Falls by Chris Wooding (SF novel, space pirates!)
  • Take A Murder, Darling by Richard Prather (a Shell Scott novel)
  • South of Sulu by George F. Worts (pulp short story collection)
  • Wasted Years by John Harvey (mystery novel, Charlie Resnick # 5)
  • Orange County Noir edited by Gary Phillips (short story collection)

There you have it. For now, though there will undoubtedly be other things that slip in or bump some of these, but these are what seem to have percolated to the top of the TBR for now (the Follett book has been hanging around for a long time, I think it is time to read it)

So, what’s on your summer reading list?

About Richard Robinson

Enjoying life in Portland, OR
This entry was posted in reading and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Summer Reading… mine, yours

  1. Chris says:

    Timely post, Richard, as I just arranged my TBR pile for the next few months at least. I’ll respond via a blog of my own, linked back to yours, of course!

  2. Richard says:

    Great! Looking forward to your list, Chris.

  3. Carl V. says:

    Great to see your post over here. I looked up the Retribution Falls book because I was curious about it. LOVE the Stephan Martiniere cover. That bumps it up on my curiosity list.

    I agree with you that the list will be ever-changing and looking back over the summer our reading realities will not match our lists.

    I already know of at least one book that will be read soon which will bump other stuff off the list: The Unincorporated Man by Dani Kollin & Eytan Kollin. I was already interested in it because of the Robert J. Sawyer blurb comparing it to Heinlein and a friend of mine just read it and was very impressed so he passed it on to me last night. I want to bump it up the list because TOR, at my request, sent me the sequel, The Unincorporated War, for review.

  4. Ron Scheer says:

    Often daunted by other people’s reading lists, especially when I probably have 100 titles on my own and none of them are on anybody else’s.

    I’d happily put Follet’s book on my list, but when will I ever get around to my very real interest in the Middle Ages? Especially cathedral building. I’ve been in those darn things and wondered for the life of me how they were ever constructed.

    Curiosity, alas, is a genie you can never put back in the bottle.

  5. Richard says:

    Ron – wonderful comment, especially your statement about curiosity. My wife read the Follett book more than a year ago and recommended it very highly. I just haven’t had a chance to get to it – well, okay, I have put other things before it – until now. I’ll probably be starting it this weekend.

    Carl – I’m not familiar with the Lollin & Kollin book, I’ll be very interested to read your review of it. This summer reading plan means the end for me of the Once Upon A Time Challenge, so I’ll be finishing that part of the challenges page, marking it completed. I didn’t do as good as I wanted to on that one.

  6. Bill Crider says:

    If I started reading PILLARS OF THE EARTH now, I might finish by Christmas.

  7. Richard says:

    Well Bill, what else could you possibly have to do?

  8. I’m considering taking a third run at reading Proust’s IN SEARCH OF LOST TIME (six books). I failed in the first two attempts. I have a new translation of the first book so maybe that will help. A few summers ago I read over 3000 pages of George R. R. Martin’s fantasy series. Too little reward for so much effort. Diane and her book club read PILLARS OF THE EARTH and loved it.

  9. Good luck with all of you wanting to read PILLARS OF THE EARTH. I couldn’t finish it. Maybe I just didn’t like the idea of reading one book for the next three months. On my list for the summer: SANDHILLS BOY, Elmer Kelton’s Memoir (reading now); BUSTED: Life inside the Great Mortgage Meltdown by Edmund Andrews; LEADVILLE by James Best (yes, finally); and if I need an England fix, either some H.E. Bates or a short Trollope.

  10. P.S. With the exception of the Trollope, you will all notice a theme with my picks: they are all quick reads.

  11. Beth Fedyn says:

    This is a heavy reading weekend for me. I have to read An Unquiet Grave by P.J. Parrish for my book group on Wednesday. I have 100 pages left in Blackout by Connie Willis (REALLY good!). And I want to get the jump on the debut of Janet Evanovich’s latest next Tuesday.

    And I expect to be visiting Wizarding World in September so I was hoping to reread the Harry Potter series.

    Too many books, too little time.

  12. Evan Lewis says:

    I LISTENED to thePillars of the Earth audiobook some years back and thought it very nicely done. The other Follett books I looked at then seemed to be about Nazis, so I lost interest. Now I see an 8-hour Pillars mini-series is coming to TV next month, and there’s a sequel, World Without End. Cool.

  13. Jeff Meyerson says:

    I just added the Willis title to my list – thanks, Beth, as it sounds right up my alley.

    I’ve had Pillars of the Earth recommended to me by several people but so far have been put off by its size. The 8 part miniseries is going to be on this summer I believe, but we don’t have Starz anymore.

    So what will I be reading? What I’d like to read is the Palliser series by Trollope – I picked up the six books recently – but will I is the question? Ditto for Alan Furst’s spy series, of which I have eight books with another one coming.

    I will be reading the new Lee Child as soon as I pick it up at the library tomorrow. Others I already have on hand:

    The Collected Stories of Isaac Babel
    Agents of Treachery, new spy stories, edited by Otto Penzler
    Never Too Late for Love, shorts by Warren Adler, followup to The Sunset Gang
    The Red Pyramid, first in Rick Riordan’s new YA series
    Zoo Station by David Downing, first in his series, set in 1939 Germany
    Feed by Mira Grant, first in an interesting looking post-Apocalypse horror series. I couldn’t resist this blurb -“The good news: we survived. The bad news: so did they.”

    And that’s just the library books (other than the Adler)!

    Beth’s last sentence goes for me too.

  14. Jeff Meyerson says:

    Oh yeah, I forgot – I’m also in the middle of James White’s Major Operation and Donald Hamilton’s Murder Twice Told, two novelets from the late 1940s.

  15. Richard says:

    Beth – nice list, I see a couple there I’d like to try.

    Laurie – thanks. I want to read The Big Short, but I’m waiting for a copy to surface at the library and there’s a long list.

    Jeff – I think the Palliser books, combined, are far longer than Pillars of Earth, but I haven’t looked at them in ages.

  16. Todd Mason says:

    I have No idea what I’ll read this summer, though I certainly hope to get back to my quartet of early ’50s fantasy magazines…and I have several books I’ve been meaning to read for FFB that have been hanging fire for a year or so…given Starz’s recebt track record of one good (PARTY DOWN), two not-bad (HEAD CASES and HOLLYWOOD RESIDENTIAL) , and several rather dire series (CRASH, GRAVITY, SPARTICUS), the book is less of a gamble, perhaps. Surprised that you, Evan, didn’t stumble over all the Follett being published in the ’70s…

  17. Todd Mason says:

    Or, even SPARTACUS,: BLOOD AND SAND, the child of XENA and 300. Hanging around too many Spartacists, or Sporticus from that Icelandic series LAZYTOWN, perhaps.

  18. Pingback: What are You Reading This Summer? – Chris La Tray

Leave a Reply

