Having Books in the Home Promotes Education

I read this yesterday, and I think it’s worth sharing, though it may be preaching to the choir, and also that most of the people who read this blog probably read The Rap Sheet also.

Still, here you go. Very interesting stuff.

I grew up in a home with lots of books, and my mother and older brother were always reading something. My dad, not so much, but he did enjoy an non-fiction book now and then and was always supportive of reading.

About Richard Robinson

Enjoying life in Portland, OR
This entry was posted in Personal Opinion. Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Having Books in the Home Promotes Education

  1. Carl V. says:

    That is interesting. Makes sense if you think about it. Even in today’s tech savvy world there is still a lot of ‘reading’ going on, so those exposed at an early age who make this a part of their life, and/or get acclimated to the idea that books and reading are a regular part of life, are more likely to be the ones willing to do the studying necessary to complete schooling after fulfilling public education requirements.

  2. I read to my son and my daughter from the day they were born. My son could read at the age of three, my daughter could read at the age of four. Books were just like toys in our house: plenty available. I grew up in a household with plenty of magazines and books. Environment means a lot.

  3. Very interesting – although, yes I probably am in the choir already. Thanks for sharing.

    Hannah

  4. Richard says:

    George, you are so right. My brother read to his children from the beginning and they all did extremely well in school and job. It’s a pity more parents don;t read to their children every single day, as opposed to once in a while or as a treat.

  5. Richard says:

    Carl – yes, it does make sense, but sometimes studies like this, if publicized, make people take notice.

  6. Richard says:

    Hannah – thanks for stopping by! If you consider yourself a reader and read to your kids, then you are most certainly in “the choir”. That’s a good thing.

  7. Jeff Meyerson says:

    When we were kids my mother collected Readers Digest Condensed Books (remember them?) and I read a number of things there, and yes, occasionally I would read the unabridged version of something I really liked. She was also a huge devotee of using the library – in fact, she still is – hence my own love of libraries.

    I probably should have been a librarian.

  8. Barbara says:

    My parents didn’t read to me much but our house was filled with books and they both read every evening. No wonder I became an avid reader. My father used to take correspondence courses a lot, hence, I became a lifelong learner as well.

  9. Patti Abbott says:

    We had very few books but I went to the library every Friday, took out as many book as I was permitted and returned them the next week. My father and brother never read at all. My mother read more but not a lot. My grandparents had the RD books, too.
    My grandson at three must have more than a hundred books but he doesn’t seem to be much of a reader. Fingers crossed.

  10. Richard says:

    Jeff – yes, I remember them, we had them in the house when I was young. There was always a faint taint to them because of their abridged nature, but they were a way to sample a lot of things, and I did that. A couple years ago we stayed in a cottage in Oregon and in the headboard bookcase there were dozens of them. The size and binding is unmistakeable.

  11. Richard says:

    Barbara – Just seeing that books were for more than decoration must have had a strong effect. Plus there’s something comforting about a home with lots of books in it, don’t you think?

  12. Richard says:

    Patti – sometimes it takes more than the physical presence of them, but you can’t force them, either. I was slow to become a reader, deciphering those symbols took a while, was hard work for me, but once I did, and then found something fun and exciting to read, I was off on a lifetime journey.

  13. Fence says:

    Yeah, there were always loads of books around when I was growing up. Doesn’t seem to have rubbed off on most of my siblings though, don’t think any of them are big readers, mores the pity

  14. There were always books in our house when I was growing up, but aside from one of the Hardy Boys books that belonged to my older brother, not much I ever wanted to read. I read lots of books from the library from the age of six on, though. I recall going with my brother to his girlfriend’s house one day. Her father had a set of bookshelves about three feet wide and five feet tall filled with Western paperbacks. I was mighty impressed by the sight of all those books.

    Livia and I read to our girls every day. I think it’s one of the very best things parents can do for their children. When the younger one was in first grade, I took her over to a friend’s house to play. The other girl’s parents showed me through their house. They owned not a single book. Unfathomable to me.

  15. Richard says:

    James – I’ll just bet those westerns impressed you! Considering what came after… I have been in countless homes (perhaps I should call them houses, considering) without any books, or with just a handful. You can always tella reader’s home by the books – and by the lamps and chairs. Readers have comfortable chairs and sofas for reading with a lamp beside. It amazes me how many people have no reading light by their chairs and sofas.

  16. I think reading was natural to me. My mother read, my grandfather, but neither to the degree I do. Entering the first grade, I couldn’t read a lick, but ended up winning a prize for reading the most books in my class, which included an advanced student who skipped second grade at the end of the year.

    Been no looking back since.

  17. Richard says:

    Randy – I had trouble with reading too, as mentioned above. Dick and Jane did nothing for me! Reading out loud in front of the class was torture. But then I found books I liked, and it made all the difference.

  18. Richard says:

    …and the library was a big part of the experience too, as mentioned by several commenters here.

Leave a Reply

