Memorial Day 2010

Originally called Decoration Day and intended to honor the fallen military who fought for our country, Memorial Day has  pretty much become a general day to remember anyone who’s passed away.

That may be good or not, depending on your viewpoint, but whatever you perceive this day’s meaning to be, even if it’s just the day you fire up the barbeque for the first time and declare Summer officially open, I hope you have a wonderful day.

About Richard Robinson

Enjoying life in Portland, OR
This entry was posted in Personal Opinion. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Memorial Day 2010

  1. Memorial Day is a day of remembrance for me. My father died 10 years ago, but I think about him every day. Memorial Day is a time when I think about absent friends like Ellen Nehr and Barry Gardner, Hal Rice, and a dozen others.

  2. Richard says:

    For me, it’s a day to honor those who have fought for our country and freedoms, from Revolutionary times to today, and also a day to remember and honor the memory of my parents, both long gone, and others friends and respected ones who have passed away.

    I never met Ellen or Barry, but I did meet Hal and many others, and wish I’d been able to know them better.

  3. Carl V. says:

    My thoughts first and foremost are always for those who have given their lives in service to the country. But I also remember those loved ones and friends who I have lost as well as those I know who have lost parents, children, or dear friends who need a some love sent their way during this day of remembrance. I’m glad we have days to honor those people, even if it runs the risk of being thought of as just another day off of work.

Leave a Reply

