Mailbox Monday, May 16-22, 2010

New arrivals – Week of May 16-22, 2010

* *   click on a cover to see it full size   * *

The inflow of pulp reprints continues, increasing to flood stage this week. Yikes!

City of Corpses by Norvell Page [published by Black Dog Books, 2008, trade paper, new copy] – pulp fiction reprint – subtitled The Collected Weird Mysteries of Ken Crane this is a collection of 7 short stories by a great pulp writer.

Dead Men’s Bones – The Air Adventure Stories of Lester Dent by Lester Dent [published by Black Dog Books, 2009, trade paper, new copy] – pulp fiction reprint – This is Volume 1 in Black Dog’s Lester Dent Library, air adventure stories published during the early 1930s and after.

Hell’s Hoofprints – The Complete Western Trails Tales of Lester Dent by Lester Dent [published by Black Dog Books, 2009, trade paper, new copy] – pulp fiction reprint – This is Volume 3 in Black Dog’s Lester Dent Library.  I’m not a big western genre reader and have read only a very little western pulp fiction, so this will be something new for me. Author, editor and blogger James Reasoner gave this one very high marks.

The Language of Bees by Laurie R. King [Bantam Books 2010 trade paper, new copy] – mystery – 9th in the Mary Russell-Sherlock Holmes series, which is a favorite of mine. I’ve been waiting for this to come out in paper, and it shoots to near the top of the TBR.

The Philosophical Corps by Everett B. (E.B.) Cole, [published by Gnome Press, 1961, hardcover (FE, FP), used copy] – science fiction – a “fix-up” novel composed of a novelette by the same title and two additional stories which appeared in Astounding Science Fiction beginning in March, 1951.

Quarter Share by Nathan Lowell [published by Ridan Publishing, May 2010 trade paper, new copy] – science fiction – coming of age SF novel of deep space travel on a solar clipper. Wonderful reviews and cover art made me buy this one.

The Skull Squadron – The Air War Stories of Lester Dent by Lester Dent [published by Black Dog Books, 2009, trade paper, new copy] – pulp fiction reprint – This is Volume 2 in Black Dog’s Lester Dent Library, these air war stories were published during the early 1930s and after.

South of Sulu by George F. Worts [published by Black Dog Books, 2007 trade paper, new copy] – pulp fiction reprint – “The Adventures of Singapore Sammy”, this collects 5 stories originally published in 1930.

and a soundtrack CD…

Foyle’s War television soundtrack, music by Jim Palmer, CD. – see my Saturday Soundtrack post of May 22 for a review.

Things should taper off, or even grind to a halt next week.
I’ve been ordering a lot of stuff but now have to calm down and read some of it.

About Richard Robinson

Enjoying life in Portland, OR
This entry was posted in reading and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to Mailbox Monday, May 16-22, 2010

  1. Cathy says:

    Hell’s Hoofprints seems to be calling my name. Happy Reading!

  2. Jeff Meyerson says:

    CITY OF CORPSES is a great title! Nice covers on these. But you need to pull back or you’re heading into Andy J. territory.

    😉

  3. Kim V says:

    City of Corpses sounds intriguing. Enjoy all your books!

  4. You’re right about BLACK DOG press! I’m ordering plenty from them, too. QUARTER SHARE looks interesting; I’ll order that from the Library.

  5. Richard says:

    Cathy – thanks! I read a very strong review of it, and decided to get all of the Lester Dent series Black Dog is publishing. I’m not sure if these stories are as much fun as his Doc Savage work, but we’ll see.

  6. Richard says:

    Jeff – I have been on a bit of a binge lately, but am trying to calm down — that said, I just ordered 4 more from Black Dog.

  7. Richard says:

    Kim – thanks, the only problem I’m having is finding the time to read all the things in the TBR piles.

  8. I’d like all the Lester Dent stuff myself. Not to mention the Norvell Page. I have some of the early books in Laurie King’s Mary Russell/Holmes series, but haven’t bought the last four or so.

  9. Oh, by the way, have you ever checked out this site:

    http://www.ageofaces.net

  10. PK Reeves says:

    Nice Loot for Monday. I really like the stylized look of the covers very 1950’s. Let me know how
    the Language of the Bees turns out.
    Great week and what a Flood! Enjoy and keep swimming 🙂

    PK Reeves
    PS If you get a chance come see my own little stash at Aisle B.
    http://aisleb.tumblr.com

  11. Richard R. says:

    Well Randy, I went ahead and got the Dent books hoping I’d like them, but we’ll see. Nope, I hadn’t seen that website before, thanks for the link.

    I like the Russell/Holmes books quite a bit and always look forward to reading them.

  12. Richard says:

    Thanks, PK, I’ll take a look.

  13. Evan Lewis says:

    Ah!! I’m jealous. I want Dead Men’s Bones, The Skull Squadron and South of Sulu!

  14. Richard says:

    Evan, Tom Roberts at Black Dog says his favorite of everything he’s published there is South of Sulu.

  15. You are on a roll with the pulp re-prints.

    Glad I found your blog — I like it!

    Here is my MM list on Rose City Reader.

  16. Those pulp reprints look very interesting. I’ve never read them!

  17. Richard says:

    Rose City & Staci – the pulp reprints are pretty interesting. You don’t have to know much or anything about the pulps or pulp collecting, just that these stories, mostly written and originally published back in the Thirties, are light, fast reading, written as escape fiction for their time. It turns out there are a lot of reprints available in the last few years, but I’ve just recently (last year) discovered them.

  18. Drongo says:

    Had no idea Lester Dent wrote western tales.

    City of corpses–the rent is probably affordable, and rush hour traffic is light.

  19. Todd Mason says:

    Hope you didn’t spend much on EE Cole…

  20. Todd Mason says:

    Or, even, EB Cole. I don’t hate the Philsophical Corps the way Algis Budrys did, nor as much as I do that other imitation Vance the Momus stories (though the P Corps is perhaps moreso bad imitation Poul Anderson), but nonetheless…good of you to collect it. Nostalgia, reviewing it?

  21. Carl V. says:

    Wow, great haul!!! You look to have some really fun stuff there and I will look forward to your thoughts on them, especially the pulp stuff, whenever you get a free moment to get to them. At this rate you’ll be needing to build more shelves!!!

  22. Richard says:

    Todd – Yes, a bit of nostalgia, I read the original story in Astounding long ago and thought I remembered liking it, so when I came across this I decided to get it. It’s a practically perfect copy in DJ and it was inexpensive. You’ll be seeing it as a Friday Forgotten Book someday, probably, though I am unlikely to rate it with the top 50 of all time… Sometimes, bad imitation can still be fun to read.

  23. Richard says:

    Carl – yep, time is the issue all right!

  24. Fence says:

    Yikes! Someone is going to be busy reading all of those.
    And then of course letting us all know what you thought about them 🙂 Enjoy!

  25. Richard says:

    Right you are, Fence, right you are! The reviews may take a while, what with the amount of TGR here.

Leave a Reply

