Mailbox Monday – May 9-15

Books, etc. that came through the front door – Week of May 9-15, 2010

Mystery Cats edited by Cynthia Manson [mass market paperback published by Signet Books, 1991, used copy] – 16 short stories featuring cats and crime, from EQMM and AHMM between 1963 and 1991.

Hiero’s Journey by Sterling E. Lanier [mass market paperback, published by Bantam Books, 1974, used copy] – fantasy/science fiction, story of a hero in a post-nuclear holocaust world.

The Columbo Collection by William Link [limited edition, signed numbered hardcover published by Crippen & Landru, 2010, new copy] – includes a Forward and 12 new, original stories – plus a bonus story – by Link, creator of the Columbo television series and a dozen other TV series.

Foyle’s War – Seasons 1–5 [on DVD, 19 discs, 32 hours, new copy] complete U.K. broadcast edition, all 19 episodes, each 90 minutes, written by Anthony Horowitz, starring Michael Kitchen. I love this series, and after watching the first couple of seasons decided I had to own it. Just superb!

Polaris of the Snows by Charles B. Stilson [published by Altus Press, 2008, trade paper. new copy] – Omnibus of three novels, Polaris—of the Snows, Minos of Sardanes and Polaris and the Golden Goddess Glorian. These novels were originally published in 1916 and 1917, in response to the popularity of Edgar Rice Burrough’s Tarzan.

Old Sails by Captain A.E. Dingle [published by Black Dog Press, 2009, trade paper, new copy] – these 12 stories were originally published in the 1920s in various pulp magazines. First publication in 70 years. Black Dog Press is publishing a lot of great stuff!

Blood ‘N’ Thunder magazine, Winter 2010 [published quarterly by Ed Hulse, perfect bound, new copy] – periodical devoted to pulp magazines. As I read more reviews on various blogs about pulp reprints, I’m gaining an interest in the original magazines and the fiction in them. I’ll not become a collector, but it’s fun, especially as a break from my other reading, to enjoy this magazine.

About Richard Robinson

Enjoying life in Portland, OR
This entry was posted in Personal Opinion and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Mailbox Monday – May 9-15

  1. william says:

    I’ve read Hiero’s Journey twice and enjoyed it both times.

  2. Richard says:

    My friend George in upstate NY sent it to me, and I’m looking forward to reading it.

  3. You know I just might be interested in The Columbo Collection. Loved that oldshow.

  4. Bill Crider says:

    I got the Columbo collection in my mail, too. Read Hiero’s Journey a zillion years ago. Fond remembrance, but that’s about it. No details.

  5. Richard says:

    I’ve already read the first couple of stories in The Columbo Collection and they are great. Reading the book makes me also want to go back and watch some of the shows.

  6. I’m hoping a DVD set of FOYLE’S WAR shows up at Sam Club or BJ’s Warehouse soon. Like you, Rick, I really like that series. I have a feeling you’re going to like HIERO’S JOURNEY, too!

  7. Richard says:

    I’m looking forward to it!

  8. I, of course, read The Columbo Collection recently and Hiero’s Journey many years back. The rest of your stuff is new to me. Sounds good though.

  9. Drongo says:

    That Bantam edition of HIERO’S JOURNEY has a colorful and wonderfully dramatic cover.

  10. Richard says:

    I already had a copy of Mystery Cats, but George sent me another because he’s so damn generous, which I appreciate. The other stuff is leaning towards pulp days, which have become, it seems, frequently encountered in the set of blogs I frequent. Now I find myself at Black Dog, Adventure House, Vintage and other sites all too frequently for my wallet, but happily for my reading.

    Drongo – that’s the one I got.

  11. Cathy says:

    Old Sails looks really interesting. Happy reading!

  12. I know you’ll love BnT – the articles are amazing. And I’m soooo jealous that you bought Foyle’s War – I WANT that!

  13. Jeff Meyerson says:

    Like George, I’m waiting for a sale DVD of FOYLE’S WAR. I just DVD’d the last series.

  14. Jeff Meyerson says:

    DVR’d.

  15. Evan Lewis says:

    Amazingly eclectic, as usual.

  16. Carl V. says:

    Foyle’s War is THE BEST! Michael Kitchen is amazing in the role. His quiet intensity is palpable. We watched all three of the latest ones on PBS these past three weeks and are now sad that we have a looong wait for more Foyle. It does sound like they plan to take his adventures to America to follow up with the one that got away. I cannot wait to see it.

Leave a Reply

