Mailbox Monday

In the Monday Mailbox group, each person posts a list of the books received the previous week. If I don’t buy any books, I won’t do a Mailbox Monday post. This week there are several. Seems like many of the other participants post cover scans and such, but for now I’ll stick with the basics.

Books in the mailbox or on the front step – Week of May 02-08, 2010

The Emerald Storm by Michael J. Sullivan [trade paperback, new] – fantasy, fourth book in the very highly praised Books of the Riyria Revelations series  (The Crown Conspiracy (October, 2008), Avempartha (April, 2009), Nyphron Rising (October, 2009), The Emerald Storm (April 2010), Wintertide (October 2010), Percepliquis (April 2011)

Desert Justice by Paul S. Powers [mass market paperback, new] – Four western novellas by pulp writer Powers, plus introduction. These originally appeared in Wild West Weekly.

The Hardboiled Dicks edited by Ron Goulart  [mass market paperback, used] – short story collection of stories originally from pulps or early paperbacks.

Lord of the Changing Winds by Rachel Neumeier [mass market paperback, new] – fantasy, first book in The Griffin Mage trilogy

Swords of the Six by Scott Appleton [trade paperback, new] – fantasy, author’s first novel, a prelude to, or possibly the first book of, a trilogy (or series) titled The Sword of the Dragon

Go here for the rest of the participants.

note: I buy all my books, none are free promotional or review copies

About Richard Robinson

Enjoying life in Portland, OR
This entry was posted in Personal Opinion and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Mailbox Monday

  1. I tend to go in spurts, so there are some weeks where I don’t get any and then some weeks where I’ll get a bunch. Last week it was just books to add to my collection of vintage books on England and I don’t think anyone would find those interesting except me.

    The only book I’ve heard of on your list (besides the obvious one) is The Hardboiled Dicks. Ron Goulart wrote The Pulp Jungle many years ago, which was one of the first books I read about the history of the pulps.

  2. oops, meant to say that Ron Goulart wrote Cheap Thrills. Frank Gruber wrote The Pulp Jungle. Both books I read early on, and I still mix them up to this day.

  3. Jeff Meyerson says:

    What a great idea! The only book I’ve read this time is (*waves at Laurie*) THE HARDBOILED DICKS.

    The only book that came in this week:

    THE COLUMBO CONNECTION by Richard Link (from Crippen & Landru) with the freebie pamphlet of Edward D. Hoch’s “The Killdeer Chronicles” (which I’ve since read)

  4. Richard says:

    Laurie – I think it’s a cool idea too, always nice to see what other people are getting. I read The Pulp Jungle years ago and enjoyed it. Haven’t read Cheap Thrills.

  5. Richard says:

    Jeff – I got THE COLUMBO COLLECTION (note title) also, yesterday, it will be on the list I post next Monday. I’ve read the extra story and started on the book last night. My only gripe is that C&L seems to be printing everything in bold font, which for me is hard to read. I need to email Doug.

  6. Boy, this could generate a long list! I went to a library sale last week and bought far too many books. You’ll be seeing them, one by one, on my blog or in MAZES.

  7. Richard says:

    I’ve been TRYING to cut back after all the excesses following the 2 month no buy thing last Fall. It’s been a disaster, I’m in fear of bookslides and worse. I look forward to your lists, and/or you could join this posting meme.

  8. Jeff Meyerson says:

    I have a feeling that most weeks George could dwarf the rest of us with his purchases. Actually, we did get a few more books but they were things Jackie got from the PaperbackSwap site.

  9. Patti Abbott says:

    And I bought books for our trip-long list. Including two hardbacks with coupons.

  10. Richard says:

    Jeff – I count PaperBack Swap books, and anything else. I’ll even count BLACK GATE when a new one comes, though some might say it a periodical, it’s thick, and full of fiction.

    Patti – I’d love to see that vacation reading list!! Here or at your blog.

  11. Evan Lewis says:

    Nice choices. I get the urge to read a fantasy epic now and then, but I’ve learned my lesson. No more starting a series until it’s DONE. I’ve been waiting 3 years for George RR Martin’s next Ice and Fire, and by the time it comes out I’ll have to reread all the all the others to remember what’s going on.

  12. Richard says:

    Evan I had a long reply to your comment, but decided to make it into a new post. Thanks for the inspiration.

  13. Patti Abbott says:

    Since my daughter has warned me not to talk about being away on my blog-here they are. Derailed, James Siegel, The Redbreast, Jo Nesbo, Murder in the Marais, Cara Black, Next, James Hynes, Day for Night, Frederick Reiken. Two books on tape: The Lincoln Lawyer (Connelly) and The Last Child (Hart). Now what will happen is I will go there and find books left on shelves and read them instead of these.

  14. Richard says:

    That’s a nice list, Patti. I see there’s an article in a recent Mystery Scene on Cara Black, though I have not read it. I haven’t even heard of most of the others, except, of course, the Connelly and Hart. It’s amazing how much there is and how narrow each of our field of view is.

  15. Richard says:

    If there are books here, by all means read them!

Leave a Reply

