shake ‘n’ roll

We got a pretty good shake – a long rolling action, half a minute or so and that’s a long earthquake – from the Mexacali earthquake (as they are calling it, it was actually many miles south of that city) which struck at 3:45 this afternoon. We have no damage, nothing fell from shelves. Ceiling fans swinging, hanging plants same. Cats all scurried under beds.

I’d rather be here than where there are hurricanes or tornados, but when they hit earthquakes are scary.

About Richard Robinson

Enjoying life in Portland, OR
This entry was posted in Personal Opinion. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to shake ‘n’ roll

  1. Glad to hear you’re okay. Art Scott doesn’t like earthquakes, either. And he’s experienced a few. I’ll stick with the snow.

  2. Jeff S. says:

    Glad to hear your ok and nothing was damaged especially since you’ve done all that organization work recently.

    It’s funny you mention tornado’s because I’ve grown up with them all my life. They are scary as well when they happen like you mention earthquakes are but I’m used to them. I’ve even seen one small one up close. Too close. When I was in high school one went through our back yard.

    I think we all tend to adapt to whatever natural diasaters Mother Nature threatens us with on a regualr basis. I always hear people mention that they are ok with whatever they deal with in there particular area and are glad they don’t have to deal with other of natures dangers. I think it’s a coping mecinism we all develop for wherever we live because we know were stuck with whatever we have to deal with where we live. I hope that makes sense. That’s just my opinion though. No offense mean’t to anyone.

  3. Bill Crider says:

    Glad you’re okay. I hate tornadoes, and I think you’re better off where you are.

  4. Laurie Powers says:

    Glad you’re all right. I felt it up where I am in Lakewood as well. As far as I’m concerned, I’d much rather deal with tornados or hurricanes – at least you know when they’re coming. I will never get used to these things – and I’m a California native.

  5. Cap'n Bob says:

    The last one we had up here dumped about 1000 toy soldiers on the floor. I still haven’t picked them all up. I’ve been in hurricanes and earthquakes and I think I prefer hurricanes. At least you get a warning and can take defensive measures.

  6. Todd Mason says:

    I’ve lived in the Mid-Atlantic since 1984, meaning I’ve experienced perhaps four weeks a year of good weather for more than 25 years, but we get less murderous weather than any other area of the country…as one who as a few months from being born when the Big ’64 quake hit just north of Anchorage, AK, lived through the Cheena River flood of Fairbanks in ’67, the typical ridiculous winter temps there and the blizzards of New England in ’69-’79, and was lucky enough to avoid any of the serious mudslides in Hawaii. The M-A gets a few random ground-quivers and the odd tornado and the occasional hurricane as things go, but mostly it’s just too hot or too cold or too wet or too windy here. It wears one down, but if it kills you it usually does it slow. Take precautions…

  7. Jeff Meyerson says:

    We’re lucky not to live in an area with that kind of severe weather – just plenty of rain and (occasionally) lots of snow.

    I’ve felt one earthquake – it hit well upstate – and a couple of hurricanes – the first in 1960 on my first day of junior high – but nothing severe.

    There have been a few relatively minor tornadoes to touch down nearby, including one that damaged houses a mile from here about three years ago. Overall, however, nothing severe as I said.

    Given the choice, I’d take hurricanes first, tornadoes last.

    Glad you and yours and your stuff came through it OK, Rick.

  8. Patti Abbott says:

    We had an earthquake here once. It was surreal and no damage was even done. I can’t imagine what a real one must be like. But tornadoes are really scary too.

  9. Carl V. says:

    So glad that you are alright. I just heard about it on the way to work this morning and, while not as tragic as recent quakes elsewhere, still sounded plenty frightening to me.

Leave a Reply

