April 1 – Spring, fools and a question

Here it is April 1 and I thought, briefly, of an April Fool post but thought better of it. (You’re welcome). The back is better, thanks. It’s a beautiful sunny day here, sure does look like Spring today, cool and sunny, in spite of the weather guy telling us it would be raining.

The sunshine is good, as I have a carpenter coming to look at and give me an estimate of replacing part of the patio overhead which has deteriorated after 22 years. Not a big job, and I probably could do it myself, but I don’t want to spend a lot of time  on a ladder hoisting long pieces of lumber up and overhead, then nailing them in place, plus there’s a piece of the facia board that needs replacing and it could be a little tricky. Also, I have no vehicle to bring the lumber from the yard to the house. So I called a fellow who’ll be here in a while.

Pick-Me-Up Music?

When I got to the Study this morning I knew I needed some pick-me-up music to go with my coffee. I looked at the shelves wondering what to pick. The question here is, what would YOU have picked, to give you a little pep first thing in the morning, something positive to set the mood for the day?

About Richard Robinson

Enjoying life in Portland, OR
This entry was posted in Personal Opinion. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to April 1 – Spring, fools and a question

  1. Jeff Meyerson says:

    Normally on the first springlike day I put on the Beach Boys.

  2. Bill Crider says:

    Warren Zevon always peps me up.

  3. Scott Cupp says:

    Hard to argue with those two choices. Blondie always works well for me.

  4. Richard says:

    All good! I keep forgetting about Warren Zevon. I had an album of his, but it was a cassette, I think. It seems like rock is the ticket You’ll laugh when I tell you what I chose.

    Sinatra: Come Fly With Me.

  5. Evan Lewis says:

    Nothing delivers the pep like Zydeco. Keith Frank, Beau Jocque and Gino Delafose are better than coffee.

  6. Patti Abbott says:

    Funny you mention Come Fly With Me. Just saw that on Broadway. Loved the music but it was not a good show. To be talked about later.

  7. Jeff Meyerson says:

    Evan, good choice – Beau Joque or Buckwheat Zydeco are good.

  8. Carl V. says:

    I’m sure you’ll consider my answer way off base, but the music that personally picks me up isn’t always the most obvious choice. What I’ve been listening to non-stop lately is Sarah Brightman’s latest CD, Symphony. In addition to the very powerful operatic singing there are these loud, reverberating choir sections, a mixture of rock instruments with traditional orchestra pieces, some punch you in the gut powerful duets with amazing male singers, in particular Alessandro Safina. I’ve been cranking it up before and after work and it just energizes me.

  9. Richard says:

    Wow, different and interesting, except for the opera-like aspect, I’m not much of an opera or opera-style singing.

  10. Art Scott says:

    Bach English Suite #2, or any good collection of Scarlatti sonatas, or the Scarlatti-Tommasini ballet The Good-Humored Ladies.

  11. Carl V. says:

    Well, I sent you a couple of links to show you what I mean. No issue if they make you cringe! 🙂 Operatic style might not be a real accurate description, but since I am not a fan of traditional opera I don’t pretend to be even a layman in regards to the proper terminology.

  12. Todd Mason says:

    Almost any sort of energetic music might do, but perhaps particularly the likes of the Jimmy Giuffre Trio, or Doc Watson in a peppy mood, or brass choir music (early baroque), or Joan Armatrading in a peppy mood.

  13. Cap'n Bob says:

    Because he just died, something by Johnny Maestro. I’m so far down “The Worst That Can Happen” is a pick-me-up.

  14. Frank Denton says:

    How about some early Stan Kenton? Or Lacy J. Dalton? Or Steely Dan? Crosby, Stills and Nash? Joshua Bell? I’m eclectic.

Leave a Reply

