Happy St. Patrick’s Day!

There was a time when this was a big deal for me, though only because it was an opportunity to go to a bunch of bars and drink green beer. But that was when I was in college. Happily, times have changed! Now, for me, the day means corned beef and cabbage for dinner. No beer.

But I do try to make this an Irish reading day! Perhaps I’ll read some poetry by William Butler Yates, or maybe ferret out a mystery by Freeman Wills Crofts, or Bartholomew Gill. I may re-read another one of Patricia Moyes (Dublin born, don’t you know) Henry Tibbett mysteries. I just read one recently, but they’re good, I like them so why not another?

For fans of fantasy, the Deryni books by Katherine Kurtz take place in a fictional Irish-Scottish setting, and they are excellent.

Don’t suggest that I read any James Joyce or that I dig out that copy of Waiting for Godot I read in college. Been there and all that.

About Richard Robinson

Enjoying life in Portland, OR
This entry was posted in Personal Opinion. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Happy St. Patrick’s Day!

  1. I read some Yeats today, Rick. I’m with you on Joyce and WAITING FOR GODOT.

  2. Carl V. says:

    Work was so overwhelming and life-sucking that I didn’t get a chance to do anything to celebrate the holiday…no wearing green, no beer, no appropriate music. What a bummer.

    By the way, I like the new template, especially the header image.

  3. Richard says:

    Carl – That header image was taken on our 2008 Alaska trip.

Leave a Reply

