trip report

Here is the promised trip report, leading off with a photo of the Monday sunset:

Monday night’s sunset from the balcony of our room

SUNDAY

We left the house at 9 a.m. in the rain. It continued to rain the whole drive, at times so hard the wipers, on highest setting, could barely clear the windshield, add the spray from big trucks and it got hairy at times, especially when driving a sports car with high performance summer tires.

We arrived at the hotel, checked in, got a significant upgrade to a really nice, big room with a great ocean view. Once we got our stiff in the room, we had lunch in a hotel restaurant filled with guests gloomily peering out the rain-streaked windows at the storm. Then Wife walked to the convention building to work the rest of the day and I, after wandering around a little to get my bearings, went back to the room. What was there to do but read? Well, there was stand on the balcony and watch the storm move across the ocean, the gulls wheeling and crying, or turn the other way to look across Mission Bay to see the city occasionally emerge from behind sheets of rain. But it was darn cold, so I went in, found the armchair to be very comfortable indeed and read Ringworld. At 6:30, with it still raining and the car was in self park an acre away, I took myself to dinner in the hotel and afterward did some more reading. About 9:00 I had room service send up a creme brulet. What the hell. By bedtime I was more than two thirds of the way through the book.

That's our room near the top, our balcony has the two seagulls perched on the canvas awning. CLICK TO ENLARGE

MONDAY

Next morning it was dry though threatening, so we went to a local joint for eggs and coffee, then walked on up Orange Avenue (the main drag) for a way, crossed and headed back under lowering skies. On that walk we went by the Lamb’s Players Theater and I spotted the sign for An Inspector Calls. (see here). The place was dark on Monday (typical) but the sign said the box office would open at Noon Tuesday. We also found and went into a fine little independent book shop, Bay Books, and picked up a couple of paperbacks – just to support the cause, you understand.

Wife had to go back on convention duty at 10am and would be tied up with that the rest of the day and all evening, so I took a walk on the beach, cut short by rain showers, then continued reading. I took a few pictures at sunset as it was very nice. (see top). I finished Ringworld and started Death at Hallows End by Leo Bruce, a classic mystery with an amateur sleuth, written in the mid 1960s. It was dry by dinnertime so I went to dinner at a little Italian place a few blocks from the hotel, then read until sleep overtook me.

TUESDAY

We went to another place for breakfast, and at 9:00 Wife had to go back to work for a couple of hours. When she was done with that, her convention duty was over. We went to the Theater and secured good seats for that night’s performance (lucky – they had a cancellation). Then a walk on the beach, a glass of wine and it was time for dinner, we decided to go to a really nice place before the play and had a splendid meal before walking on to the theater. The 90 minute play, which I had never seen and knew little about, was very well done, staging, lighting, sets, acting all just wonderful. We stopped for a late dessert and coffee and back in the room we both read for an hour or so before lights out.

WEDNESDAY

Check-out was at Noon. The morning flew by, with breakfast at yet a different place (best yet), some shopping, picture taking, a longish jaunt on the beach, packing and we were out and drove home.

In all I got one book finished and another about half done. I took five of them. Silly me.

About Richard Robinson

Enjoying life in Portland, OR
This entry was posted in Personal Opinion. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to trip report

  1. Bill Crider says:

    Nice photo! Thanks for the report.

  2. Evan Lewis says:

    I’d say reading Ringworld is a vacation well spent. The challenge for me is picking the right book for an airline flight. The ideal thing is to start as soon as stewardess finishes the seatbelt spiel and finish just before touchdown. On last week’s trip to San Antonio I did all right, coming within a chapter of finishing Cleve F. Adams’ Sabotage. But our return trip was in three legs, and I finished Robert Reeves’ Cellini Smith, Detective early in leg 3. By that time my brain was too fried to get into a new book.

  3. Better to take more books than not enough. I read LARGE PRINT books on airline flights, Evan. They work fine on a long trip!

  4. Richard says:

    I agree, you can’t have too many, but it’s discouraging to haul those unread books home and put them back on the TBR. The others I can mark “have read” in the catalog and shelve them.

  5. Carl V. says:

    I agree with Evan’s assessment of Ringworld. You’ve got me wanting to pick up some Niven again. It hasn’t been that long and yet its been too long!

    My next challenge post is finally up!

  6. Richard says:

    I may have been too harsh on Ringworld, having written my review just after I finished it. I often do better when I wait a few days before assessing my thoughts on a book.

Leave a Reply

