Saturday Soundtrack – a question

Yes, I have the soundtrack CDs organized and shelved. Darn thing is, with all the other stuff I have piled up everywhere, I’m gonna need at least another week, maybe two, before I can get organized and write a new SSt entry.

So here’s an idea: try to decide what your favorite film music is, ever, and post here and tell me.

Is it the sweeping music from Gone with the Wind, the unmistakeable theme from The Magnificent Seven, the music from Star Wars or something else?

About Richard Robinson

Enjoying life in Portland, OR
This entry was posted in Personal Opinion. Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to Saturday Soundtrack – a question

  1. George Kelley says:

    I’m fond of Henry Mancini’s music. THE PINK PANTHER is classic, BREAKFAST AT TIFFANY’S is wonderful. Mancini’s timeless style always delights me.

  2. Richard says:

    For me, it’s Peter Gunn that really does it. There are two CDs. I do like the other music too, including the music form Mr. Lucky.

  3. Art Scott says:

    Difficult, difficult. Here are a couple: Bernard Herrmann – The Devil & Daniel Webster; Ralph Vaughan Williams – 49th Parallel.

  4. Richard says:

    Good choices, I like them both, and much more of the work of these classic film composers. I’d add some of Korngold’s film music.

  5. Drongo says:

    Either THE GOOD, THE BAD, AND THE UGLY, or maybe FORBIDDEN PLANET.

  6. Art Scott says:

    Add Walton’s Henry V to my list.

  7. mostly anything by tangerine dream or vangelis, though I do like a lot the tracks by composers who ought to be doing classical music (backdraft theme, apollo 13, the right stuff as examples)

  8. Patti Abbott says:

    I like all the music people have mentioned here. Familiarity breeds content with me.

  9. Richard says:

    Some of them HAVE written “classical music”, Steve. It’s my opinion, often stated, that original film music is the classical music of our times.

  10. Richard says:

    Not a thing wrong with that!

  11. Carl V. says:

    Although there are several soundtracks near the top of the list, with all sincerity the soundtrack that moves me the most is that from Return of the King. One of these soon days I hope to be able to justify pulling the trigger on the more expensive, full version.

  12. Richard says:

    Perhaps it’s the vocal tracks in addition to the other music that makes you prefer it? I listened to that one not long before pulling all the CDs, and found the vocals to be a distraction…

  13. Cap'n Bob says:

    HELP

  14. Carl V. says:

    I like the vocals as part of the soundtrack, but the reality is that my preference for the music from all three of those films cannot be separated from my deep connection to the films. I truly have never experienced anything like the ongoing attraction I have to the extended editions of the movies and to the extras that accompany them. When I hear the music I am filled with the emotional connections I’ve made to the characters, to Tolkien, and to all those involved with making the films. It may have been a better idea for me to try to answer the question while keeping this music in its own separate ‘untouchable’ category, but then again I’m not sure any soundtrack that I like would stand on its own without my feelings about the movie involved.

    After all, Braveheart was my second choice. 🙂

  15. Scott Cupp says:

    My choice always depends on the mood, I love THE MAGNIFICENT SEVEN by Bernstein, DAY OF THE DOLPHIN by Delerue, THE WIND AND THE LION by Goldsmith, DUEL AT DIABLO by Hefti and anything Korngold, particularly ROBIN HOOD.

  16. Richard says:

    All excellent choices, Scott. It’s been a long time since I listened to DAY OF THE DOLPHIN, I’ll have to pull that out soon.

  17. Richard says:

    Carl – you’re just trying to obfuscate the issue so we don’t discover your real favorite is MARY POPPINS.

  18. Carl V. says:

    To be honest there were several musicals that came to mind but I interpreted your question to be more about instrumental soundtracks.

    And here is where I may be asked to relinquish my man card…though it is far from my favorite musical, I actually do like Mary Poppins! Its supercali…okay, that is going a bit too far! 😉

  19. Richard says:

    Yeah, chim-chim-charee to you, too. I don’t mind it, but when I move from original music for film into musicals (an admittedly narrow line) it’s not one of the musical I gravitate to. I don’t have the CD. Give me Rogers * Hammerstein any day.

    Oooaaklahoooomma, where the elephants eyes run through the corn (or whatever that is).

  20. Evan Lewis says:

    Guess I’ll have to say the entire James Bond series, with On Her Majesty’s Secret Service being a standout. Also Our Man Flint and Swashbuckler.

  21. Richard says:

    The 007 theme, whatever it was originally called, is certainly one of the most recognizable bits of music ever. I’d wager as many or more people today would recognize and name that as could the first few notes of Beethoven’s Fifth Symphony.

  22. Todd Mason says:

    Well, I’ve mentioned previously that Morricone’s FOR A FEW DOLLARS MORE was the first sountrack for a non-musical to really get me to sit up and pay attention (OKLAHOMA being the first adult musical to get me involved, a number of years earlier. Kids’ musicals were ubiquitous in my youth…rare was the kids’ movie, still, that wasn’t a musical.) But early exposure to the Beatles’ movies and THE MONKEES certainly made their impressions as well. I’ll nomiante Holst’s “Jupiter” movement of THE PLANETS as at least one of the most plagiarized sources of soundtrack cues I can think of.

  23. Richard says:

    The Monkees? The “hey, hey we’re the Monkees” Monkees? I admit I like a few of the songs “I’m A Believer” is pretty good. But I can’t see moving them into a conversation about film music. Yes the Beatles did Help! and Hard Day’s Night”, but I always saw them as vehicles for pushing the music and horsing around not really films with original music soundtracks.

    I do accept, with pleasure, your repeat mention of Morricone’s FOR A FEW DOLLARS MORE. Holst’s Planets has been cribbed, stolen from and plagiarized a lot, and not just “Jupiter”. “Mars” and others of the Planets also.

  24. Todd Mason says:

    Ah, but Richard, you must remember that I was born in 1964, so television repeats of the Beatles films (including YELLOW SUBMARINE) and early imprinting (apparently the neighbor girl who sat me as an infant was a stone Monkees fan) of the first run of the series (I reportedly was singing the likes of “Last Train to Clarksville” at age two) and the repeats of that series not too long after made an impression. (Though my current taste in Monkees’ songs runs a bit more toward “Goin’ Down” and “Valleri”…)

    Indeed, “Mars” and the other movements have been ripped off as well, but I keep coming across western and other boisterous soundtracks that the Holst estate should be collecting from, far more often from the Jupiter movement of the suite than any other.

  25. Richard says:

    “I reportedly was singing the likes of “Last Train to Clarksville” at age two.”

    Oh my. That’s frightening.

  26. merlin513 says:

    oh, tough one! I’m afraid i’m gonna be a multiple wuss also.

    Flatliners / Candyman / The DaVinci Code / The Prophecy (the one with Christopher Walkin, not the gigantic mutant skinned grizzly bear!)

    the score that made the biggest impression on me initially and spawned my love of movie scores…Star Wars!!! even tho i was pretty much raised on Henry Mancini’s Moon River & Disney…

Leave a Reply

