Ed Thomas, R.I.P.

The owner of one of the best, if not the best used and new mystery book stores in Southern California died Tuesday February 23. He was 77. Here is the link to the local newspaper article:

He read Orange County like a book – Life – The Orange County Register

I went to the store frequently for many years, less frequently the last few years, but it was always a pleasure to visit. I’m sad.

About Richard Robinson

Enjoying life in Portland, OR
This entry was posted in Personal Opinion. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Ed Thomas, R.I.P.

  1. Carl V. says:

    “But his passion was books”.

    That is a wonderful eulogy. I’ve never met the man, but reading that article I can see he was a kindred spirit and I mourn his loss.

  2. Too few independent booksellers survive, especially genre specific ones. A sad moment.

  3. Richard says:

    Yes, and the store was within easy driving distance. I suppose I’m to blame, along with many other people, in the struggles the shop has had, I buy from the internet, or get books at the library, most of the time these days.

    Ed was a great guy.

Leave a Reply

