an M Day

Some places, there are Snow Days. Here at Casa Broken Bullhorn we occasionally have, unfortunately, Migraine Days. This is one of them.

Brightness and noise are intolerable, looking at a computer screen, reading, television, listening to music, squinting at CD case spines, being out in the sun or in a bright place, all no-go.

A strong dose of Excedrin for Migraines ® and staying in a quiet, dark place is about all that helps while I wait it out. These things usually last a day or less, so I expect to be back tomorrow with some kind of actual post instead of this whiney “oh poor me”.

See you then. I’m out.

About Richard Robinson

Enjoying life in Portland, OR
This entry was posted in Personal Opinion and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to an M Day

  1. Todd Mason says:

    No…migraines are definitely good opportunties for some self-sympathy. Better luck and better times.

  2. George Kelley says:

    I have several friends who suffer from migraines, Rick. Hope you feel better soon!

  3. Carl V. says:

    That picture couldn’t be more perfect. I do not suffer from these myself, but work with several people who do and I see just how awful they can be. I wish you dark, quiet rest and a quick recovery. I’m so sorry.

  4. Patti Abbott says:

    So sorry, Rick. I have several female friends who stopped getting migraines after menopause. But I don’t know how this helps a man. More estrogen instead of less???

  5. Bill Crider says:

    I hope it ends soon!

  6. Drongo says:

    I’ve had family members who had to endure migraines. Best wishes.

  7. Jeff Meyerson says:

    Bummer, Rick. My mother also gets them, as do several friends.

    Just feel better soon.

  8. Cap'n Bob says:

    A terrible malady from what I’ve observed. Some people think it’s caused by stress. Breathe deep, relax, read something.

  9. Scott Cupp says:

    I hope you are doing better now and are attacking the reorganization with renewed vigor and loud uplifting music.

  10. Richard says:

    Cap’n Bob – something about that sounds familiar… will do.

  11. Richard says:

    Scott – it’s a good thought. I’m not quite there yet, but the headache is gone. Energy is slow returning, however, so I’ll run errands (gas up the car, market, Post Office, Home Depot) and take a walk, which will juice me up, hopefully. THEN I’ll follow your advice.

    Hmmm, what shall I play? I’ll think about that while I’m out and about.

  12. Scott Cupp says:

    Miklos Rosza usually peps me up. Something like El Cid puts a bounce in your step.

  13. Richard says:

    Both good choices. I’m headed to the shelves… right after I play some Handel.

Leave a Reply

