Book & CD Reorganization Update # 2

As you may have read in my Feb 16 Update #1, I’m in the midst of reorganizing my books and media. A description of the room, the state of organization – lack of it, actually – is in that previous post. This thing was a New Year Resolution to get things organized.

The CDs, category by category (excepting jazz, so far) have been pulled, organized, sorted, winnowed (more on that in a minute), and re-shelved. I added three additional shelves, cleaned everything.

Status as of Feb 20 – Resorting and Reorganizing CDs:

  • Non-Rock Vocals – completed
  • Soundtracks – completed
  • Classical – completed
  • Spoken Word – completed
  • Rock – completed
  • Jazz – not begun.

I’ve made good progress with the CDs, I even have a couple shelves that are, momentarily, empty. They’re CD height, so I can’t put paperbacks on them, unless I stack them on their sides… The jazz CDs are in a separate shelving unit, so it won’t be as time consuming I hope.

Winnowing – This is an inevitable part of the process. It’s difficult, it hurts, but it has to be done. There are CDs I just don ‘t listen to any more, nor do I plan to. I need to get rid of them, and I am. In classical, performances that are inferior to other CDs of the same work(s) are going to the library. Rock CDs are going to the used CD store. I have only about a half dozen soundtracks I’m not keeping, but they go to the library too.

Classical music is by far the toughest. The hard part was deciding if I thought I’d ever play some of them again,a nd if not, did I want to keep it anyway? Pieces of music I don’t particularly like but filled in the holes drove me nuts. If I have, say, all the other symphonies, why wouldn’t I want to have that one? You get the idea.

Status as of Feb 20 – Books:

  • Tall books – completed: on shelves (under the window seat)
  • General Shelving – mostly hardcovers – not begun
  • Paperback mystery –  not begun
  • Hardcover and paperback SF and Fantasy – not begun
  • Hardcover Mystery – not begun
  • Graphic Novels and Collections –  not begun

The books aren’t as out of order, but there are some shelving issues. All the paperbacks are double shelved, slotting in a book requires sliding every other book following it to the right, the end book to the next shelf down, etc. Nightmare Town. I’ll start the books after I finish the jazz CDs.

There is still a long way to go, but I’m getting there, slowly. Verrrry slooowly.

About Richard Robinson

Enjoying life in Portland, OR
This entry was posted in Personal Opinion. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Book & CD Reorganization Update # 2

  1. Sounds like a lot of fun. My books need organizing period, as most are still packed up from a move(and have been for about five years). Health issues make me doing anything by myself a problem, so it looks like things will stay the way they are for now.

  2. Jeff Meyerson says:

    When you’re done we need totals! How many (an approximation will do) CDs are in each of your categories?

    Inquiring minds…etc.

    😉

  3. Patti Abbott says:

    I am feeling very guilty here.

  4. You’re getting to sound more and more like Martha Stewart! I can’t wait until you get back to reviewing!

  5. Richard says:

    Randy – none of this activity, begun when I couldn’t find a CD I really wanted to hear and was in my “catalog” but not anywhere I looked, does not include the boxes of books in the garage. I went through those last Fall (again, looking for something) and at least organized the boxes by genre and labeled them.

    I should integrate them into the book portion of this whole reorg, but I doubt I’ll have the energy. Likewise the two full sized (30″ W x 6′ H) bookcases of TBR are also excluded.

    Now that you have me thinking about it… I should include the boxed books in this, but since I have no additional room, what would I re-box? That latter part of the alphabet, probably, and that would mean going to the boxes for any of those. Yikes.

    I’ve always dreamed of having enough shelf space for everything, single depth, but it will likely remain a dream.

  6. Richard says:

    Jeff – I don’t know if I can do an accurate count, but some approximation might be possible. Then you and others can say “Is that all? I thought he had a lot of stuff.”

  7. Richard says:

    Patti – no reason for guilt. This kind of organization, and making lists and cataloging stuff is what I call my defense against chaos. Sometimes it even works.

    George – Me either. I did get some books from Greywolf Press in the mail the other day, 4 of the The Art Of series: Time, Subtext, Attention and Syntax.

  8. Carl V. says:

    You’re making progress!!!

    I suspect the books are going to be a big job, but I know I personally love an excuse to handle my books, so I’m sure there will be some enjoyment for you in the midst of the hard work.

    I’m not a fan of the double shelving method myself, though I understand that space issues and the number of books sometimes makes that necessary.

  9. Richard says:

    Car – see my comment to Randy, above (#5). For me, here, double shelving isn’t an option, it’s a requirement.

  10. Carl V. says:

    I suspect that if I don’t get some more bookshelves built in my house it will be that or banishment to boxes for me too.

  11. David H. Doerrer says:

    “I went years with just putting new purchases on a separate shelf because I’d not left any space at the end of existing shelves for additional items.”
    Ah, a decision that has come back to haunt you. I’ve done this, so when I put in bookcases and hung wall shelves when we moved here, I left every 6th or 7th shelf empty. They’re filling up. but slowly. Good luck with the whole project.

  12. Richard says:

    David – great to hear form you! Yes, I’m paying the price. At first I did have space, but I wasn’t as smart as you were, I left room for about four or five books at the end of each shelf. It took about a year for that to fill as I took books from storage and bought more. I started doing the pull-shift-move down a shelf-shift shuffle and when that got to be too much of a hassle I just began stacking and so on. It was never completely awful, but it began to get hard to find things I KNEW I had. Finally, well, this.

    “every 6th or 7th shelf” makes it clear you have more space than I do.

  13. Cap'n Bob says:

    If I tried to clean out my stock I’d need a pitchfork.

  14. That’s what they tried to use on Frankenstein’s monster… it might work.

Leave a Reply

