The Day After

So yesterday was the big day. Uncountable slices of pizza, chili dogs (I helped) and so on consumed. Countless cans of beer. The can recycling places will be busy this week.

Over on his blog (Not the Baseball Pitcher) Randy Johnson gives a good summary fo the game and thoughts about the commercials. He says the Budweiser commercials with the Clydesdales have been done one time too many. Personally, I still really love the Budweiser commercials featuring the Clydesdales, so does Wife and also most of the guys at the SB party I attended. Hey, if Bud sold a DVD of all those commercials, I’d buy it.

The favorite by far in our group was the Doritos no-bark dog collar commercial. In what I consider a pretty darned weak field, my 3rd place goes to the Monster.com musical beaver ad. It was a pretty good game, not marred by injury or officiating gafs, which is good. Congrats to the Saints.

I don’t have much else for today, but I’ll leave you with something nice to look at, a picture from our 2008 Alaska trip. The colors in this rock cliff were amazing! Click for a slightly larger image.

About Richard Robinson

Enjoying life in Portland, OR
This entry was posted in Personal Opinion and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to The Day After

  1. randy Johnson says:

    Good picture.

    I enjoyed the game and as I said the commercials were overall lame. The dog collar Doritos was pretty good.

    I think my favorite all time was the one where the flock of birds were chasing the car strafing it, ala fighter planes, with you know what.

  2. Carl V. says:

    I’m glad you brought up officiating, because I have to agree wholeheartedly there. This was one of the best NFL games I’ve seen as far as officials pretty much staying out of the way and letting the guys play without letting big penalties go uncalled. Where there even any holding penalties? I don’t recall anything, which is a positive in my opinion. Mostly just a couple of false starts.

    The Doritos dog collar commercial was definitely the best. The chip in the neck Doritos commercial was kind of fun too. Overall though, lame commercial day.

    Lovely picture. Alaska is one place I would really love to visit some day. Such beautiful scenery.

  3. Richard says:

    I remember that one, Randy, it was a good one.

    My Nikon D40X did a nice job for me on that trip. I should share one here more often. We took a two-week trip, one on land (Fairbanks to Anchorage, with stops in Denali and Kenai) and a week on sea (Glacier Bay and the usual suspects). I was great!

  4. Bill Crider says:

    I didn’t watch much of the game, so I missed the commercials. Nice photo from the trip.

  5. Richard says:

    If you read Randy’s blog (and I know you do), you get everything you need about the game, I think.

  6. Jeff S. says:

    My wife and I LOVE the Bud Clydesdale commercials each year. We liked this one and would buy a DVD of them as well.

    I also liked the ” casual fridays ” monster.com commerical and the one with Betty White and Fish from Barney Miller playing football. 🙂

  7. Carl V. says:

    I did think the casual fridays commercial was kind of fun too…disturbing, but fun.

  8. Carl V. says:

    And I forgot to mention, since you mentioned the rain the other day, that we got snow all day yesterday and have had some off and on this morning. It has been a really pretty snow, flakes piled on the trees, covering everything, but thus far not messing up the roads.

  9. You’re right about the weak field of Super Bowl commercials, Rick. Pepsi opted NOT to participate with Super Bowl commercials for the first time in 23 years. Pepsi is spending their ad dollars on the Internet. I predict more and more companies will make the same decision.

  10. Carl V. says:

    I can’t believe the viewing numbers this Super Bowl drew. I wouldn’t have guessed that these two teams would generate that much interest.

  11. Susan says:

    The colors are amazing–this photo looks like an abstract painting; it should be one.

  12. Richard says:

    It was early afternoon and the light was diffused by high cloud cover. The water was really that color too.

Leave a Reply

